“The Rocky Road to Dublin,” covered by The Kings of Connaught … (Celtic / Ballad – Music to Your Ears, Covers–19)

in #music5 years ago

The Kings are being lauded for bringing traditional music to a younger audience.

The Kings of Connaught – “The Rocky Road to Dublin”

“The Rocky Road to Dublin” (2016  – Dubliners’ version from 1964) 

In this traditional song from the 19th century, an Irish man relates the story of his journey from his hometown to the far-off shore of Liverpool, England. He is off to seek his fortune. Instead, he meets misfortune. The poor migrant is mocked, robbed, and scorned.  

The Smooth Road Back Home

When the locals at his destination taunt him and call him a fool, he flies into a rage, and confronts them. His only relief comes when some of his Irish compatriots rush to his rescue, and “clear the way,”  possibly for his return, on a not-so-rocky road, back to the safety, comfort, and security of his homeland.   

The lyrics were written by D. K. Gavan, who was known as "The Galway Poet."  It was first popularized by Harry Clifton, and subsequently by The Dubliners.

In 1995, The Chieftains collaborated with The Rolling Stones to cover “The Rocky Road to Dublin,”  on the former’s album “Long Black Veil.”

The Kings of Connaught

The Kings of Connaught are a band from Galway, Ireland. Their expressed goal is to keep alive the “great heritage and culture of Irish Ballads.” 

To that end, their repertoire consists primarily of traditional Celtic ballads.   (Image source)

For Kids

The Kings have recorded 2 albums. “The Rocky Road to Dublin”  is from their forthcoming 3rd album. The band is already being lauded for bringing traditional music to a younger audience.

While in the merry month of May, now from me home I started
Left, the girls of Tuam were nearly broken-hearted
Saluted father dear, kissed me darling mother
Drank a pint of beer, me grief and tears to smother
Then off to reap the corn and leave where I was born
Cut a stout, black thorn to banish ghosts and goblins
A brand-new pair of brogues to rattle over the bogs
And frighten all the dogs on the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the hare and turn her down the rocky road
And all the ways to Dublin, whack, follol de-dah

In Mullingar that night I rested limbs so weary
Started by daylight next morning blithe and early
Took a drop of pure to keep me heart from shrinking
Thats the Paddy's cure when'er he's on for drinking
To hear the lassies smile, laughing all the while
At me curious style, 'twould set your heart a-bubblin'
They asked me was I hired and wages I required to lay
Was almost tired of the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the hare and turn her down the rocky road
And all the ways to Dublin, whack, follol de-dah

In Dublin next arrived, I thought it such a pity
To be so soon deprived a view of that fine city
So then I took a stroll, all among the quality
Bundle it was stolen, in a neat locality
Something crossed me mind, when I looked behind
No bundle could I find upon me stick a-wobblin'
'Quiring after the rogue, said me Connaught brogue
It wasn't much in vogue on the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the hare and turn her down the rocky road
And all the ways to Dublin, whack, follol de-dah

From there I got away, me spirits never falling
Landed on the quay, just as the ship was sailing
Captain at me roared, said that no room had he
When I jumped aboard, a cabin found for Paddy
Down among the pigs, did some hearty rigs
I played some hearty jigs, the water round me bubbling
When off Holyhead I wished meself was dead
Or better for instead on the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the hare and turn her down the rocky road
And all the ways to Dublin, whack, follol de-dah

The boys of Liverpool, when we safely landed
Called meself a fool, I could no longer stand it
Blood began to boil, temper I was losing
Poor old Erin's Isle they began abusing
"Hurrah me soul" says I, me Shillelagh I let fly
Galway boys were by and saw I was a hobblin'
With a "lo!" and "hurray!" they joined in the affray
Quickly cleared the way for the rocky road to Dublin

One, two, three, four, five
Hunt the hare and turn her down the rocky road
And all the ways to Dublin, whack, follol de-dah
  (Image source)

        The Dubliners – “The Rocky Road to Dublin”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by D.K. Gavan,, courtesy of “Slap Ur Mom” – YouTube
Reference – FaceBook.com
Reference – TheKingsOfConnaught.com

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

very beautiful song!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24