ALBUM REVIEW - HOZIER - WASTELAND, BABY

in #music5 years ago

HOZIER - WASTELAND, BABY - ALBUM REVIEW

I'll be honest, i'm not a big fan of #Hozier, but during my long trips to job i've started listening this guy that disappeared a bit after his worldwide success ** Take me to church**
and this have been one of the best choices i've made lately.

The last album of this young guy is a triumph of melodies, a whoel tribute to happiness and relax!
His voice is amazing and somewhat he reminds me Nina Simone, don't tell me why!

I loved this album because it allows you to dance,cry,sing,sleep and my fav, enter in an overthinknig mood about never experienced lives and moments.
Andrew Hozier-Byrne released his 2nd album after a pretty long pause where apparently he prepared and rested so well! The 28 yo guy from Ireland really cares about noble causes as he already showed in the "Take me to church" videoclip which raised many claps from LGBT parties.

rsz_hozier_wastelandbaby_3000rgb.jpg

But he is not the only who committ effort to do this album. His mother, the artist Raine Hozier, designed the album cover and the process of submerging her son underwater was not so quick and painless!

"Just try to think of the album sales if I do die on this shoot!” said Hozier to his mum while shooting the album cover !

hozier-top-2019-786x421.png

Looks like you are listening some Gospel album from 60's

Since its release, #Hozier has been streamed over 2 billion times on Spotify alone, with lead-single “Take Me To Church” remaining in the top 35 most streamed songs on the platform despite being released over four years ago.

Few more words on the Shrike track, this ballad is something that the word GORGEOUS can't fully cover. It's not easy to mash up Mumford and sons + Coldplay + Image dragons + Jhonny Cash... or maybe is just me, that let myself follow the music looking for citations or homages to other artists and tracks.

Wasteland, Baby! Track Listing

1. Nina Cried Power (featuring Mavis Staples)

2. Almost (Sweet Music)

3. Movement

4. No Plan

5. Nobody

6. To Noise Making (Sing)

7. As It Was

8. Shrike

9. Talk

10. Be

11. Dinner & Diatribes

12. Would That I

13. Sunlight

14. Wasteland, Baby!

My Fav track:

"Nobody"

My less fav track:

"As it was"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22