Roadtrip and a Concert: One of my favorite combos! Plus a bonus on the way home :)

in #music6 years ago

Yesterday, my sister @jessicalayman and I took some time off work to take a “sister roadtrip” to St. Louis. I bought her concert tickets for her birthday back in June and yesterday was the day! We went to see one our favorite bands that we have been listening to since we were teenagers!

5ADE1649-7116-47CC-AAA5-BE65F077009C.jpeg
We went to see Alkaline Trio at The Pageant in downtown St. Louis, Missouri

IMG_E1478.JPG

Jess is not only my sister, but also one of my very best friends. We’ve grown older and unfortunately don’t get to see each other nearly as often as we would like to. We live about 2 hours apart and we are both busy, full-time working moms. This trip was much needed!

We were college roommates, and we used to constantly go to concerts. We used to keep a notebook of all of the live bands we'd seen and by our mid-twenties, we had already seen over 200 bands! We haven't been to a concert together in years, so we danced and sang our hearts out!

IMG_E1483.JPG
Before the show, we stopped for dinner and drinks at a rooftop lounge a few buildings down from the Pageant. I don't go to the city often, so it was a fun experience! :)

IMG_E1476.JPG
Our Uncle John lives in St. Louis, so he joined us at the show and let us crash at his house instead of sleeping in a hotel. We normally only see each other at family functions (which is perfectly fine), but it was fun to go hang out and do something together!

IMG_1490.JPG
Just a crappy phone picture, but I was too busy having fun to take many photos! Instead of hanging out in the "pit", we watched the show from one of the balconies. The last time we were at this venue was about 17 years ago and I remember being in the pit and thinking "How can those old people stand to be up there away from all of this fun?!? Now I'm older. Now I understand ;)

IMG_1503.JPG
Just to keep tradition alive, we had to stop for breakfast at Denny's this morning. That was always our morning hangover stop after St. Louis shows when we were younger :)

And the bonus on the way home?

We got to meet our new nephew!!! One of our sisters lives about halfway between our homes and St. Louis, and she gave birth to a beautiful baby boy around 8pm last night. So the timing was excellent because we got to stop and meet the new little guy on our way home. He is so perfect!!!

IMG_1510.JPG
His big sister gave him lots of kisses when I was holding him

IMG_1525.JPG
Seeing this little sweetie was the perfect way to finish the day!

It was great to take a little trip and hang with some family! My sister and I listened to loud music the entire road trip, and sang at the top of our lungs!!! It felt just like old times. Now, back to the daily grind tomorrow. Thanks for checking out our little getaway! :)

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

I was just carried away by your words and it was indeed a wonderful day. I wish you many more like 'em.

unfortunately don’t get to see each other nearly as often as we would like to. We live about 2 hours apart

I hate that part.... LOL
Good vibes on your way
hash-tag

I hate that part too, but at least we still have a great friendship and we got to take a break from everyday life to go have some fun! Good vibes right back at ya, @hash-tag!!! ✌🏻

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Awesome! Thank you for the recognition @illuminati-inc. Much appreciated! ☺️

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Please stop. You have posted this same comment on many of my posts and my friends’ posts...multiple times. I will happily upvote you if you make a genuine comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78