📀 Mixtape Monday Song & Contest- 🤘🏽No Resteem, No Follow, No Upvote Required🤘🏽steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

This is now officially a thing I'm doing. But I'm changing the rules for the contest... so read below for more details.

🤘🏽No Resteem/Follow/Upvote required🤘🏽


Track 16: A Song That's A Classic Favourite

Given the vast majority of my music collection is made up 'classics', this could get difficult. But my choice for the ultimate #hifimixtape this week came easy, as it played in the car on my way home tonight.

Ironically, it started raining this afternoon, after a beautifully warm, sunny day. There is something I love about the smell of rain on warm asphalt, and the way that the gum trees smell after rain on a hot day.

The Rain Song by Led Zeppelin
from their 1973 album Houses of the Holy

 
Listen to this track on the

HI-FI MIXTAPE: AFTER THE FORK soundtrack


CONTEST DETAILS

5 SBI up for grabs!!

 
This week, I'm changing things up, and making the contest easier and less intensive.

  1. Choose a song that is YOUR classical favourite.

  2. Post it in the COMMENTS section - either a YouTube link or a link to Spotify or any other media service

  3. Share a small story about WHY you've chosen this track.

  4. I am devoting a total of 5 SBI to this, so I will choose responses based on a combination of the choice of track AND from reading your story about your choice. I may choose 5 different entries at 1 SBI each, or just one entry will get all 5 SBI.

You do not have to upvote or resteem this post!! Although it will be appreciated, but it isn't a condition of entry - just enter your post as laid out in the guidelines above.

You're invited to vote and comment on others' entries, but again, this is not a condition of entry.

You have 7 days to enter, with the winners being announced next week with the next post.

Have fun, and TURN IT UP TO 11!

Enjoy!
😊🤘🏽🎸


MADE FOR STEEMIT


Like what you read?
Listen to the HI-FI MIXTAPE: AFTER THE FORK soundtrack.

left.gifmetametheus.gif

Sort:  

Sooooo.... I know it's super super super super super cliched, but this will always be my favourite classic:

It's cliched for a reason... it's just an incredible song. I'm not even sure if it counts as a song, it's an incredible everything.

It's also the very first song I did at kareoke.. I was 18, it was in a bar, and I was super nervous, I've always been terrible with crowds... and everyone just got right into it. Everyone knows the words, thanks to Wayne, everyone knows when to headbang. It's just incredible.

There’s a reason this song kept winning Triple J’s Hottest 100 every year in a row until they changed the rules and could only vote for songs that had been released in that year!

Can’t wait to see the movie!

Great choice.

Thank you! I had completely forgotten about the movie... and totally saw a trailer for it today... it's going to be great.

It's still amazing that even when they did the JJJ Hottest 100 of all time in 2009, it still came in at number 6... I'm looking at it now and it wasn't until Number 17 that a 'non-classic' came on. Classics are the best! The numbers don't lie!

What makes a classic - well for me something that is entertaining, and something that represented a change in the music scene, there are thousand great songs out there, almost anything from Queen, Stevie Wonder, Dylan, so many, but I'm going to a different direction. The Song 'The Message' by Grandmaster Flash and the Furious five, not the first rap song to be a hit (although many think it was) but within the first few, and the first with (dare I say it) A message, meaning everything from Public Enemy to Michael Franti owe a lot to this. Would I have heard it at the time, unlikely, when did I first hear it, not sure probably late 80's as I started to get into music with a message (Billy Bragg, Midnight Oil and co).

Yes, great track!!!

I think Gil Scott-Heron was probably the first 'rap' artist, but this track certainly did change a lot of things. Maybe the first to really bring to the fore how many Black Americans were living in the cities? I mean, Gil Scott-Heron was doing that with his music, but he was before MTV...

Grandmaster Flash comes along with his very unique sound, as well as the accompanying visuals, and we start getting a very different picture of life in Urban America.

this is definitely a classic, defined and change the game for sure. good stuff!

Very cool, My Pick will have to be Green is the colour by Pink Floyd, Pink Floyd is my favorite band, and envoke so many memories that at times its hard to even listen to them because so many intense visions are mixed in with there songs, But this songs reminds me of the morning after tripping on shrooms with my partner in cosmic crimes, just smoking a joint and just chilling and watching the smoke dance to the tune. Smoke 'em if you got 'em

I 💚 this.

More is definitely one of my favourite Floyd albums... come to think of it, they’re all my favourite 😆. But seriously, it’s a highly under-rated work, and this song was always one I’d pick.

The movie is quite good too. Quite sad and tragic.

Great choice!

very nice contest @metametheus ...let me take place i the contest with the following entry...Lady in Black -Uriah Heep ...it's been one of my favorites (more likely my best ever) since many years ago ...i really am very sorry i cannot share the reason why with the community ,its a very very personal thing,hope you understand....the only clue i can give you is literally some lines from the song...
... her long hair flowing..
..in the midwinter wind....
...i know not how she found me .....
..for in darkness i was walking..
..and destruction lay around me...
..from a fight i could not win!!!!


please do not misinterpret these words with a rush conclusion...it's not so easy to find what it really means to me and not so obvious either...
...thanks for giving me the opportunity to take part!!!

OMFGs!!!
That is one of my favourite Heep tracks ever.... second only to July Morning.
Honestly, I thought I may be the only Uriah Heep fan in the world... you have very good taste!

Also, I wouldn’t be ashamed of why this song brings back wonderful memories.... 😜 Aren’t all the great rock songs about love gained, lost, or unrequited? I have a similar memory with the Eagles’ Witchy Woman.... 😉

i really am happy you like the track as well as that you're a fan of Uriah Heep....as you said there are not so many of us around the world :) ...

...oh no,has nothing to do with shame,or that i'm ashamed of saying it!!! :)) ...
...has nothing to do with lost loves and this kind of stuff...it's much more powerful and meaningful ...it's more about inner struggles and fights about some kind of situations that really can change somebody's life but let me say no more my dear @metametheus ...
....lets just enjoy the moment listening to Ken Hensley's masterpiece ..this is what it really counts after all!!!!!

Hello @metametheus, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi @metametheus!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.221 which ranks you at #8116 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 46 places in the last three days (old rank 8070).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #214.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This song takes me back to my teen years, riding around with "the gang" in my '69 Cougar convertible. Good memories!

I saw them in concert 5 or 6 years ago in Greeley, Colorado. Great concert!

Another classic song!! Great vibe, and it really does feel like the kind of track you'd play loud out of an old American convertible.

One of the things I like about this song is the mention of Neil Young's criticisms of the south, referencing his song 'Alabama'.

do we have a winner @metametheus???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03