📀 Mixtape Monday Song & Contest Winners: 🤘🏽No Resteem, No Follow, No Upvote Required🤘🏽

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Last week's mixtape entries were many and varied. As usual, I'll announce the winners of the SBI, and then share a favourite track of mine that helps me ponder the depth and wonder of existence, and hold the contest open for another week with a new track. Keep reading for more details.

🤘🏽No Resteem/Follow/Upvote required🤘🏽


LAST WEEK'S WINNERS
Some crackers for this contest, made it hard to judge.

Congratulations to these awesome folk and their awesome choice of classic favourites:

  • 2SBI goes to @jedau for bringing Guns n Roses track Sweet Child Of Mine into the mix
  • 2SBI goes to @muscara for a very cool old French song from Eurovision, France Gall with her Serge Gainsbourg song Poupée de cire, poupée de son
  • 1SBI goes to @simonjay for including my teenage boy crush Belinda Carlisle's *Heaven Is A Place On Earth

Each of you will be getting your SBI in the next day.

Also special mentions and upvotes to the other entries:
@calisay, @rossfletcher, @riverflows, @blueeyes8960, @filotasriza3.

All of the tracks will be added to the current soundtrack HI-FI MIXTAPE: AFTER THE FORK.

Track 19: A Song That Makes You Think About Life

"Life. Don't talk to me about life!"
— Marvin the Paranoid Android, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams

If you hadn't already noticed, I love philosophy. I love reading about it, I love thinking about it, and I love talking and writing about it. I particularly love it when it bleeds into popular culture and infuses fiction, film, television, and pop music.

Some people ask me what kind of music I like, and I say all kinds. Because I truly do like all kinds; but the stuff I love transcends genre because it somehow makes me wonder and think about stuff. Which is probably why I can't stand the banality and mediocrity of most pop music!

I could've chosen yet another George Harrison track. However after that, this song came to mind.

All I can say is...

Flute solo!

My God by Jethro Tull
from their 1971 album Aqualung

Listen to this track on Spotify.

This video is of the original line-up playing this song at the Isle Of Wight Festival in 1970. This was clearly before the line-up changed before recording the album.

I'd say this song certainly influenced my cynicism towards Christianity and institutionalised religion (although I was probably already on that path before I got into Tull).

People, what have you done
Locked Him in His golden cage
Golden cage
Made Him bend to your religion
Him resurrected from the grave
From the grave

He is the God of nothing
If that's all that you can see
You are the God of everything
He's inside you and me

So lean upon Him gently
And don't call on Him to save you
From your social graces
And the sins you used waive
You used to waive

The bloody Church of England
In chains of history
Requests your earthly presence at
The vicarage for tea

And the graven image you know
With His plastic crucifix
He's got him fixed
Confuses me as to who and where and why
As to how he gets his kicks
He gets his kicks

Confessing to the endless sin
The endless whining sounds
You'll be praying 'til next Thursday to
All the Gods that you can count

I remember from an early age seeing the abject hypocrisy of people who claimed to be Christians, and yet flouted the tenets of Christianity every day! I also realised fairly early on that any god - all gods in fact - are created in our image, not the other way around. There is nothing wrong with that, in fact I would argue that knowing this makes it easier to live a spiritual life (a topic for another post methinks).

So what do you think about?

And what music inspires you to think about it?

It's your turn....


CONTEST DETAILS

3 SBI up for grabs for ONE awesome person!!

 
This week, I'm changing things up, and making the contest worth more.

  1. Choose a song that makes you THINK ABOUT LIFE.

  2. Post it in the COMMENTS section - either a YouTube link or a link to Spotify or any other media service

  3. Share a small story about WHY you've chosen this track; what does it make you think about?

  4. This week I'm getting bolder. This week only one entry will win 3 SBI total. I'm doing this this week, because I really want to see some thought put into it.

You do not have to upvote or resteem this post!! Although it will be greatly appreciated and received with grace, it isn't a condition of entry - just enter your post as laid out in the guidelines above.

You're invited to vote and comment on others' entries, but again, this is not a condition of entry.

You have 7 days to enter, with the winners being announced next Monday with the next post.

Have fun, and TURN IT UP TO 11!

Enjoy!
😊🤘🏽🎸


MADE FOR STEEMIT


Like what you read?
Listen to the HI-FI MIXTAPE: AFTER THE FORK soundtrack.

banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

left.gifmetametheus.gif

Sort:  

@jedau, @muscara, @simonjay - here is your reward. It should be registered in the SBI records within 7 days. Thanks for your entries, I loved them!!
Screen Shot 20181031 at 23.30.06.png

Thanks for the contest - it's interesting seeing which songs are shown and why.

Perhaps I can reciprocate: take a look at the weekly showcase post of #needleworkmonday where I will give away 1 SBI share each week :)

When listening to this song I feel peace in me, I feel as if someone hugged me and moved slowly from one place to another with a lot of love, this song makes me think about the happiness of life, when listening to the instruments and the lyrics I feel life itself in it.

Oh man, I LOVE it when music does that to me! I can understand why you'd get this from this song. Such cool jazz sounds always chill me out... that trumpet is awesome.

it is a really good song, I'm happy that you enjoy it

My entry is "The Bulls" by Marc Almond


Well, of course it's "only" the English version of one of Jacqes Brel's masterpieces. But Almond made it his own (and it's one of the rare songs where I prefer the English version)
it's about all the ordinary people that try to be more than they are - and how others suffer for it.

Lyrics

hello....i like this week's contest...
...as soon as i read the rules....instantly i could think only of one track...
...i'm sure you're familiar with it as i'm 100% sure you have listened to it many many times....i'm talking about the one and only 'Dust In The Wind'

Same old song
just a drop of water in an endless sea
...
Dust in the wind
all we are is Dust in the Wind

..i believe there is no story behind these song...i was listening to it when i was 13 ..i'm almost 40 and i
'm still listening to it with the same passion ...same feelings...
...it made me realize what life was about and that small things really mattered at the age of 13-14....
...when i listen to it now, experience just confirms exactly what i was thinking when i was 13-14...
...its just a classic gem and i think it describes life better than anything....
...thanks for this contest @metametheus

I love this song. I'd never heard of Kansas, and when I was in the US last (this is going back to 2002), a friend there played this to me on guitar. I then looked up the band, and now have their entire discography. What a powerhouse of prog awesomeness!!!

Some people say the small things never matter, but I agree with you - when you're a teenager, these things that may seem small to others are important to us. In fact, I'd probably say that goes for us at any age.

Thanks for sharing this with us!

very interesting, as I was 'randomly' checking out this post, with my music playlist 'randomly' playing a Remix version of Saul William's Sound The Noise Came From Here, where really does fit this perfectly.
We won't be silenced, no, the noise came from here
A never ending war will not be waged from here
The future is my home it all came from here
Police and sirens, guns are on parade right here
You never touch my love

Bob Dylan's Masters of War.
It was released in '63 on freewheeling album. There are many versions of him playing this, like a true artist he reinterprets with each performance (doesn't just reproduce a studio track time after time). This is an early version from 63, but not the one released at the time.
This track differs from other protest songs of the period because it does not sell hope and unity and the popular positive "people power" message. It is angry and hateful. It is timeless for that reason. Written to the world leaders more than a generation ago, the sentiment, sadly, is still relevant.


I also like It's alright ma, for similar reasons.


With regards to a more introspective pondering on life I choose
Last thoughts on Woody Guthrie.
I'm not sure it qualifies, as it is spoken word, not music. I am posting it here anyway, even if it disqualifies my entry. Everyone should listen to this track at least once in their lifetime.
This is why Dylan was the first song writer to receive the Nobel Prize for literature.

Congratulations!!!!

I'm choosing your entry as the winner of this contest!! 3 SBI shares coming your way. It should take about 7 days for it to be recorded and you start to receive your SBI votes.

Why did I choose your track? Because that Dylan track was the one that touched me the most during this week.

It's been a difficult week, and I didn't even get the chance to post a Mixtape Monday track this week... which is why I'm writing this here, and letting you know 2 days late!!! But for some reason, this track made me think about a lot of stuff and somewhat relevant to what's happening for me at present... even though this is a song about war, about power, and social rank. But I've been contemplating all the crap that's going on in my life, and putting into a wider context, and also wondering about what I can do to make change in the world and in my life.

So that's why. I have this album, and I know this track quite well, and I wouldn't say I'm a huge Dylan fan... but it was poignant for me this past week.

😊🙏🏽☯️📀📻

Hi!
Thanks!
Everyone loves to win a steem contest, but this one feels like it has a touch of synergy about it.
Are you in Melbourne? I'm a new south Welsh woman myself.
I'm sorry you have had a tough week. I posted this song in the context of an acute on chronic week of issues myself. I just popped over to your posts after reading your comment here, to find I may have a lot to learn from you.
I don't want to indulge in my own stuff, but you did have me reflect on the time in my life when I was most well, across all domains. Not ridiculously fab in any particular area, but in general a life that was balanced physically, socially, occupationally, economically, emotionally. I don't think it is a coincidence that I was greatly involved in ging mo kune kung-fu and Qi gong at the time.
It feels like an impossible mountain to climb to return to a state of ease, as apposed to dis ease, but I am at the foot of a great mountain right now, and I see no alternative but to try to start clawing my way up. I feel I have tried a number of times to do just that, and that perhaps I am not coming at this hurdle at the right angle or with the right mind set or tools.

It is funny how our lives and seemingly small incidental things can influence others. Your message here has had me spend the last hour watching videos of my old Sifu on YouTube. Thank you.
My last post was about a raven I know whose name happens to be a variation of petah. That's an interesting coincidence that has me intrigue...

Father and Son

When I saw the rules of this contest this the first song that came into my head. I heard this song from my dad's cd while driving home, listened to the lyrics and had theories what if my dad put that song so I could learn from it haha. But I really love the lyrics, its like telling me not rush my life and that we should also listen to our elders when they give us advices because they dont want you do go through most of the hardships that they experienced while growing up. But no matter what they say its really up to us to make the decision on what we want to do with our lives. For me, we should really think hard weigh the pros and cons before we make a big decision in life and we should always be ready for the consequences if there are any.

Thanks for hosting this! Hope you have a great day!

My song for the contest is Only God Knows Why by Kid Rock.

This song has a place in my heart because the first time I heard it, I was sitting in the Jr. High School parking lot waiting on my 13 year old son to come out of this school dance with his "first girlfriend". The thing on my mind while waiting was that I was wrestling with some weighty decisions about my life. This song came on and I related to "only God knows why" and I truly love the song. It's been a favorite of mine ever since.

"I've been sittin' here trying to find myself
I get behind myself I need to rewind myself "

Loading...

Hi @metametheus!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.289 which ranks you at #7961 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 75 places in the last three days (old rank 8036).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 438 contributions, your post is ranked at #214.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84