This guy sounds just like Layne Staley

in #music5 years ago

I just recently began to be inspired by music of Seattle sound monsters Alice In Chains. But I love all the early work of the group, like many fans, due to the former vocalist Layne Staley. His voice is really unique. It seems that nothing special and enchanting, but it clings to the ribs so then you can't forget any song Layne's performed.

Layne-800x500.jpg

Soon I realized that three albums is too few and began to look for other teams with the participation of Staley. Switched to Mad Season, just a week ago started to listen to "Degradation Trip" by Jerry Cantrell dedicated Layne. Unfortunately, Staley in the last years of his life nothing has been recorded. Left musically unsatisfied, I wanted more and soon I got it.

Young talents who gradually try to breathe life into hard rock and remind to generation bout existence of old school come to the rescue.

One of those unique guys Brendan Maier. His voice, manner of performance and vocal parts are so much like Staley that sometimes shivers runs through the skin. Listen to Brendan's band Skorned and composition "Psychosis":

I think you noticed that in this song not only the vocalist's voice is like. Music itself is quite reminiscent of Alice In Chains. Immediately noticeable that and who inspires these guys.

I did not believe it when I listened. Decided that it's just the composition is well chosen, so Brendan got to copy lane. But then there was even more interesting and surprising.

I was interested in this guy and I started looking. It turns out that recently appeared cool team called Chout, of course, with Brendan at the microphone. And hell, this guy ROCKS again.

Chout – «Seasons»:

Chout – «Pick Me Up»:

It turned out that for several years, Brendan is a member of tribute band named Facelift. Guys successfully sing Alice In Chains hits and are quite popular at home.

Sort:  

Thank you nesmeliy! You've just received an upvote of 72% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Congratulations @nesmeliy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05