livestream practicing thoughts 1st monthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

I think I've been doing these live stream practice sessions now for about a month. Just wanted to share my thoughts on how its been going so far.

It definitely has a positive effect on my being preset while practing. I do at times get distracted, thinking about something or other, but I quickly come back to my task.

Also, I am feeling the sense that someone is watching so there is a little more presure than normal. Even though no one is watching most of the time!

stream1.png

I started out on Dlive, and now it looks as though those videos have been deleted due to their sudden change of plans to leave the steem blockchain. I tried Dtube a few times, but cause I'm in China on a vpn, the connection is often slow and I think Dtube is just not up to par yet. Once we're able to embed the Dtube vid into a steemit blog, I might try again.

So at the moment I'm just using youtube. Seems to be working ok, since my phone app can stream and it's pretty straight forward. I do however need to find a way to share the livestream with steemit somehow... Anyway, I'll just need to figure it out.

Sound has been a bit of a problem. My phone is better than the webcam mic, but still not that great, especially for the upright bass.

Unfortunately I won't be buying any more equipment in the near future due to the crypto bear market....

Anyway, these are the vids playlist for anyone interested:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLR-qq8Nr1QdivBV300lgZ9-pob3x9TfLv

And the concept behind the idea of practicing online here:

Livestreaming My Daily Practice
https://steemit.com/practice/@owain82220/live-streaming-my-daily-practice

Effortless Mastery
https://steemit.com/dhama/@owain82220/kenny-werner-s-effortless-mastery-thoughts-and-experience

I have noticed some other things about this experiment. Often when I first start practicing the line, the tension increases over time and so the line fumbles or I miss notes. You would normally think it should be the oposite, but this isn't the case. So I haven't quite 'got it' yet.

To try and aleviate this problem, I 'try less' or relax more. There really seems to be a fine balance between being relaxed and focused. If you are too relaxed, you fumble. If you're too focused, you tense up and it comes out awkward.

I think at this point it's good just to be aware of it. And over time hopefully come to 'remember' that feeling of the right balance between the two.

stream2.png

Just on a quick end note. I've been looking back at some of the performance vids I've been posting, and a couple of things I've noticed I need to improve on.

One is timing. I get by on it ok, even on those gigs without a drummer. But it's not great. Not an amazing feel..... might be a little harsh, but it's so important!

The other is less clear. It's more of a dissatisfaction of some of my lines. Needs more variation.... more something. During a solo, I don't seem to have enough material to go more than 2 choruses (on a blues maybe a few more).

I think transcribing would help this, along with some slow classical pieces. But then there is the other problem of not having enough time to practice all those things you'd like to. I have other stuff to work on which wouldn't be right to live stream. It would be too boring!!!

That includes some original stuff I'd like to be able to solo perform on the upright with vocals. But I won't reveal it until its almost ready. At the moment this is taking most of my time. I'm hoping to have a few songs ready by the end of the month as a general time frame.

Sort:  

you can subscibe to my youtube chanel if this is something you are interested in:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLR-qq8Nr1QdivBV300lgZ9-pob3x9TfLv

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13