Music Video #1 - This Woman's Work

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Link to DLive

A lovely song by Kate Bush.
I really love what this lady has done in the past and have listened to her albums The Kick Inside, The Whole story, Hounds of Love, Lionheart, Never Forever, The Dreaming, The Sensual Word, The Red Shoes so many times that I cannot even count them.

After getting to second place in the grand 'Open Mic' contest I was absolutely stunned. I'm still quite baffled today and immensely grateful for the judges who left their comments but also to the people who took the time to leave me a kind message. My musical journey has been a challenging one and, looking back, uploading a video of myself singing is quite a leap from where I used to be.
So I want to thank everyone who voted, helped and supported me.🙏💛🙏
It really means so much.

This is why I have started learning how to play that guitar that has been standing behind me in the background for almost a year now. It is frustrating and my fingers are clearly not used to this kind of punishment... but I am sticking with it! I just suck right now 😂 so I've decided to spare your ears and use Smule (the karaoke app) to make a video.
I sang it live, in one take. The only thing that app is doing is playing the music and giving me a choice on what effects the mic has. On this one it needed quite the reverb so I chose the setting 'Studio'.

I'm hoping you'll enjoy it and if you want you're welcome 👉 to leave a message 😊

I'd also like some help in picking a song for my next music-post.
Any ideas or suggestions are welcome.🙂

Pray God you can cope
I stand outside
This woman's work
This woman's world
Ooooh it's hard on the man
Now his part is over
Now starts the craft of the Father

I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you've got a lot of strength left

I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you've got a lot of strength left

I should be crying but I just can't let it show
I should be hoping but I can't stop thinking
Of all the things I should've said that I never said
All the things we should have done that we never did
All the things we should have given but I didn't
Oh darling make it go
Make it go away

Give me these moments back
Give them back to me
Give me that little kiss
Give me your hand

I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you have a lot of strength left

I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you have a lot of strength left

I should be crying but I just can't let it show
I should be hoping but I can't stop thinking
Of all the things I should've said that I never said
And all the things I should have done that I never did
All the things that you needed from me
All the things that you wanted for me
All the things I should have given but I didn't
Oh darling make it go
Just make it go away, now

How it all got started: Steemit Open Mic Week 88 Cover Elastic Heart - Sia

Sort:  

So beautiful... When I started in music people compared me with Kate Bush not that my voice has nothing to do with her but I guess for people quiet or alternative musicians are down to a few, I take it as a huge compliment now... You have a beautiful voice! :) and her songs are no easy ones... those high pitched notes... ! :) perfect!

Yes! I thought the same when I heard you sing the first time.😃
I've been hearing it too frequently and it is such a compliment. Thank you @yidneth I'm so pleased to have met you here on Steemit. This platform has been, and continues to be, such a blessing. 🙏💛


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome!🙏

Your voice is so haunting... and this is one of my favorite songs and hearing you sing it is such a treat. I'm blown away once again. Damn, girl. ♥♥♥♥♥♥ And I am so excited that you are learning to play the guitar! I am re-learning myself.. have been unable to play the past 3 years and so now I'm getting my fingertips back in shape and calloused! So let's not give up, absorb the punishment and reap the rewards! : )

😃😃😃😃
I'm so happy you like it!
Hahaha, yes... it hurts like hell after a couple of tries and I get so frustrated when I miss a fret or hit the wrong one. I bet a vid of that would be funny but my ego can't handle that right now. 😂😂😂
Yes! (We'll both be playing in no time! You a little bit sooner than me I think.)😂

I absolutely love this song and I'm not ashamed to admit that it makes me well up every time. This song brings associations of a very sad time in my life, but releases catharsis in me now as I look back at that time and realize I made it through. I think that this woman's world encapsulates those types of feelings of regret:

I should be crying but I just can't let it show
I should be hoping but I can't stop thinking
Of all the things I should've said that I never said
And all the things I should have done that I never did

Anyway, your rendition of this Kate Bush classic provoked my age old response and ended up tearing up. Truly beautiful singing @p4ragon good luck with the guitar x

Thank you so much for your reply @raj808.
I really appreciate you sharing.🙂

Yes, it surely seems to be about regret and having stayed silent for a long time but at the end I feel all those powerful feelings break free and there is suddenly room for something more.
Regret is probably one of the most poisonous emotions next to shame and this song shows a ray of light at the end of that dark struggle.

Thank you so much for your kind words and I'll keep toiling away at those six strings.😉

Your post has been curated by us and highlighted in Music Today Issue #22 | A SMA Community Initiative because we find your post valuable for the Steem Music Alliance Community.

You will also receive 10 WhaleShares thanks to our sponsor. To get this please provide us with your Bitshares account name.

For more information about SMA Community, please read our Music Today post and come visit us on Discord

SMA.png

Please keep posting quality content!

@smacommunity

That was really well done! Your voice control is really good, especially on the high notes!

Thank you @amberyooper 😃🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85