Borrowed a Jazz Bass for a few days - Playing over ''Sir Duke'' :)

in #music5 years ago

Hello Steemit!



Today I am sharing a very informal and just for fun bass cover of Sir Duke by the great Stevie Wonder , I really love playing bass but I don't have one of my own currently. I borrowed one because I need to lay down some bass recordings for something I'm producing ( regular day by day productions ) and I must say this particular Fender Jazz Bass sounds really nice and has that old school vibe.

So , just for fun I thought of learning the bass line of this awesome tune since I love it and mess around with it a little.. it's not a note by note transcription.. but.. I was having fun :P .

I am not a bass player so I don't think I can get a better take anytime soon!

So.. here we go! Hope you like it!

Stevie Wonder - Sir Duke ( Bass cover )

Thanks for watching!

pechi777.png

Sort:  

Hey man, beautiful play! Keep 'em comin'! Reeeeally nailed that tone man, Nathan Watts would be proud!

Follow me and let's create a huge community based in the love for music!

Thank you brother ! and welcome to steemit ! nice to have more musicians on board.. and oooh.. Nathan Watts is the best .. I'm just a guitar player posing as a bassist in my room :D ! Cheers!

apparently you are a bass player. lying is not well done piggy. you can do anything it seems. you made it look easy - and you even looked like you were having fun!

hahahaha @torico <3 ... well I don't practice bass and won't get asked to play bass on a band.. so.. I'm not a bass player :P .. i just like to mess with it . And no.. i can't do anything , I can't find a matching pair of socks for starters hahahah.. but.. I can give cookies :)

+cookie <3 <----copy-paste this on discord ;)

Querido amigo @pechichemena tienes algo que aquí en mi tierra le llamamos "swing", no sé como se dirá en otras partes, aquí es como sabor, filling o estilo para tocar, y eso es muy bueno, no importa ser el mejor mientras tengas esa cualidad.
Es un buen trabajo.

Por tu contenido y apoyar siempre a nuestra comunidad...
¡GRACIAS!

Gracias querido @kantos ! me alegro que algo de swing haya en mi tocada de bajo jajajaj... aca también le decimos asi ;) ! Muchas gracias por pasarte a escuchar! te mando un abrazo!

I really like the neck on the Jazz bass, and they do have a certain sound to them that I like.
I think you can play faster than I can...I'm not all that good with the finger plucking method, I usually use a pick for faster notes. Of course, I'm not as fast as I used to be, I haven't played seriously for about 18 years now.

The Jazz bass is my favorite type of bass.. at least for me that I play it only from time to time and just want a ''meat and potato'' type of bass .. I'd like a Jazz bass of my own in the near future ... good for laying out ideas.. sounds right 99% of the time .. just plugged direct hahaha.

Oh , you play bass with a pick? haven't really tried .. it kicks the guitar player out to much , by playing fingerstyle I kinda have to adapt and think a little more ''bass like'' .. we don't want a guitar player playing bass ... hahaha we want someone actually trying to play bass and help the rhythm section lock in . :D Anyways.. it's fun! I love the instrument!

I have to agree with you about playing a bass the way you would a guitar. It's 2 different thought processes between them, you gotta play the bass like a bass. :-)
My thought on the bass is that it's a background instrument, it's there to help reinforce the rhythm and the beat.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @pechichemena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 36000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97