Can you drop tune a standard stratocaster to B ?? // Sound test.

in #music5 years ago

Hello Everyone!

So , I was challenged (kinda) to play this particular song and offered an avocado tree ( how can you resist that offer?!! ) and I wanted to give it a try .. this particular song is actually played with a Baritone guitar since it is in a Low Drop B tuning and of course played with High gain humbucker pickups.

Since most of my gear is still in Argentina I gave it a try with my regular Tribe Stratocaster equipped with Virtual Vintage Dimarzio pickups and direct to the sound card with amplitube .. the result was quite interesting... what do you think??

Wait and Bleed (Slipknot) - Guitar Test

Back in the city and working to getting a decent setup again, hopefully I can get more of a decent quality soon.

Until Next Time

Pechi

Sort:  

Did you get the avocado tree?

not yet... I feel betrayed

Well, it sounds like it works fairly well anyway.
It must have been a real pain to get the guitar tuned and then to stay in tune.
I'm planning to put a block in the tremolo system of my Squire strat so that it will stay in tune better. I have no plans to use the tremolo, I don't even have a bar for the thing, so I might as well block it so it will stay in tune better.

Hey Amber! well , getting the guitar in tune was not hard ( the tremolo is locked so that is not an issue ) but the strings are too floppy because they are regular 0.10 . I think that if you think of tuning down to those low places you would at least need a 0.12 or 0.13 so the tension is nice and beefy . It would help on general sound definition in my opinion. You don't need a block for the Squier , just tighten all the screws of the springs on the back , that should be enough ;). Thanks for listening !

I'll give that a try with tightening the screws.
If you want to leave the guitar tuned to low B, just get a set of strings for a 7 string guitar and don't use the high E string.

Miss mah piggy!! Love the hair 🔥

Eagle! Long time no see :) . How are you??

Plugging along!! Nice to see you. Be well.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @pechichemena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 69000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17