King's X ''Black The Sky'' - Guitar Cover.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!


Well.. it's very weird for me to post twice in a day but.. I just needed to vent a little with something heavier ( everything is all right btw :P ) . In my last post I mentioned how I was heavily influenced by Ty Tabor of King's X to come up with many of the guitar parts for the Enki album , his heavy tuning plus great use of space and voicings make him one of the best rock players out there .. though he is very very underrated!

So.. I went and played this cover of one of their songs.. I tuned down my Telecaster to a low B .. yes.. like a 7th string pretty much ! and just went for it .. i think it came out ok ! hehehe

I created the patch in Amplitube.. if anyone wants the preset just drop me a comment and I'll share it with you , nothing fancy.. just cut quite a bit of bass because of the low tuning.. so it still cuts in the mix :P !

While the song in itself is not hard the challenge is to make it sound very tight with the bass and drums , this takes some training with the right hand .. and.. people ! if you are into heavy riffing.. use downstrokes! .. you need to keep that snap going in the sound . Luckily I played metal for many years.. so .. some of the training is still there hehehe.

This might kick me covering some heavier songs later on.. It's a style I really love :D !

King's X - Black the Sky - Guitar Cover

Here is the original tune:

Also... do yourselves a favor and watch the man Ty Tabor talk about gear and production a little ;) !

Well.. I'm out for the day! thanks for watching!

pechi777.png

Sort:  

What a song ! I first heard it on a Rick Beato video , i think it was on Brendan O'Brian production style , and it stuck in my mind ever since :D Glad i actually found the name of the song :) And super tight playing as always , no need to point that out :D

oooh thank you man! the whole album is worth a listen :) ! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82