Production Tutorial - Working on the mix of a Steem Monsters song - Flight of the Elemental Phoenix (@Isaria) // Getting a session ready and setting up a workflow.

in #music5 years ago

Hello Steemit!


Today I wanted to share an overview on how I onboard a project when it comes to editing and mixing , while this video in itself is not going through actual mixing specifics it gives you an idea on how to set up an order and workflow previous to the mixing stage and maximize your time when doing so.

The song used for this explanation is a Steem Monsters song by the mother of all cats @Isaria and composer of most of the SM material , this is a work in progress as I might add some guitars later on:

- Flight of The Elemental Phoenix

https://steemit.com/dsound/@isaria/20181129t020517589z-flight-of-the-elemental-phoenix--pechichemina-mix--music-for-steem-monsters



What I cover in the video is what I call the pre-mixing stage , this meaning importing the tracks , cleaning up noise if any, making a rough volume leveling and panning and setting up the signal chain of the individual tracks while selecting quick presets to narrow down the workflow when actually starting to mix.

The truth is that we have around a 45 to 1 hour window in where our ears are fresh and we can make good decisions when it comes to mixing , after that time frame our ears become more and more unreliable so it's important to have everything already set up and ''cleaned up'' so we don't use this time for anything else than actual mixing.

I hope you find this video useful!

Video explanation:

Thanks for watching!



If you don't know what Steem Monsters is about you can check it out right here!

Discord:
https://discord.gg/jd8SKBq

Sort:  

Oh, I seriously need to have you work on some of my music, my friend. As for having a 45-60 minute window where you can hear things clearly, that's a good thing to keep in mind.

I nominated you for a DTube thing today, as I think you'd be a great addition to the family they're creating over there. Thanks for all the quality content you bring to the blockchain. :)

awwww thank you Katrina for nominating me in something I don't know hahahaha .. If I don't get people stealing tacos on my house I'm all good hahahaha <3 . Thank you for thinking of me , I appreciate it !

On the other hand , of course ! As I told you before , I'd love to put a collab together either as a musician or producer , I like playing in both areas ;) ! Over the summer ( January for me ) I'll have much more time for that so definitely ! Let's work on sumfin ! much love - Pechi

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Congratulations @pechichemena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 44000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87