Sunday Practice // Long Guitar Improvisation - Playing by ear.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I hope you are all having a nice Sunday , actually this improvisation was part of yesterday's practice routines ( oh my god.. I lied on the title... shame on me... hahaha ). I like to practice along this really long backing tracks to see if I can sustain a solo for a long time , this means I somehow need to build a story , create release and tension and different dynamic moods.

I usually like to switch between using fingers and pick quite often as the tone changes very drastically by doing this , I also play very differently as I gravitate to totally different melodies when changing from one style to the other.

Also , though I am very heavily into music theory , I rely mostly on my ears for improvisation since I believe you should be able to follow a melody that is happening internally and theory and music concepts are just meant to help you with tools to follow that sound in your head more effectively. I will make a tutorial surrounding this so it doesn't sound like an obscure concept , there is actually a method to this in my opinion and I will try to break it down in the future for you.

Guitar Improvisation - A Ionian Jam

Here is the backing track for you to try to play over , it's a very simple progression and quite fun to just ''let go''.

Just that , a very short entry for today ! I hope you all have a nice day :)

Thanks for listening !
Pechiche Mena

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9VRvhxypxqLUeF73LHqHW8w6t2ukLwCFiXJNq8RYXeKthDvJqfWnfzDszKX7bkNgXfmXyR5FCEiDRy8.png

Sort:  

Nice playing man!

thank you very much :) ! glad you liked it!

Congratulations @pechichemena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66