I Got A Guitar!

in #music5 years ago

IMG_20190809_151051262.jpg

I've been looking for another good way to spend time around the campsite and decided I would try taking up guitar again. In the past I have played electric bass guitar and really enjoyed it. Now we are without electricity most of the time so an accoustic guitar seemed like the perfect choice.

At first we started looking around in pawn and guitar shops near Colorado Springs. I wasn't really impressed with what I saw in my price range. Most were either too plastic or too expensive. One brand I was impressed with was Martin so I decided to start looking online.

I browsed Craigslist and Facebook marketplace looking for Martin guitars on the lower end of their price range. The LXM and LX1 are two models which I was interested in at first. They are 3/4 scale travel guitars and can be found for $250-300 used.

Instead I did a little more research and many people suggested going ahead and upgrading to the Dreadnought Jr. This model is 15/16th scale and solid wood. The only one I could find online was located at a guitar store west of Denver which was a 2.5 hour drive away. I decided it would be worth the drive because they also had the Little Martin LXM in stock.

The drive up wasn't so bad, mostly two lane highway through the mountains providing some excellent views. We stopped for gas and a potty break in south Denver and then continued through the city to Wildwood Guitar.

The store had excellent stock of quality guitars including many vintage Taylor, Gibson, and Martin guitars. The used Dreadnought I was looking for was in stock but not displayed on the wall. When the salesman returned from the back with it I was relieved to find it in excellent condition. The piece near the top of the neck which the strings rest on had been replaced with bone and it had new strings.

I asked if they offered a military veteran discount but the guitar was already priced too low to take any more off. I think I got a pretty good deal and a really great guitar for the price. It's super light, well balanced, and has a great tone.

After we got back I tried learning some chords and songs with some success. Having some experience on bass guitar will definitely help. Thanks for reading about my experience looking for my new guitar!

Here is a link to their website https://wildwoodguitars.com/

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Cant wait for my serenade!😍

That will be fun to play on around the campfire, enjoy it :)

I'll bring mine sometime.. and the drum

That is awesome. Worth the trip. Definitely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84