NEW MUSIC: Mndsgn - DAVIBE [instrumental hip-hop]

in #music6 years ago

Easily one of the best tracks I've heard from Mndsgn yet! (audio)

For all intents and purposes, I like Mndsgn. His Against The Clock for Fact TV still remains one of the biggest highlights of that on going series. And whenever I drop in to hear some new music from him, I always like well enough. But yet, I still find myself at arms length with his music for whatever reason. Which I find strange because his music, including this track here, have all the characteristics that tend to gravitate towards: mellow, lazy atmosphere, a hearty helping of Rhodes keyboard, all set to some hip-hop drums (though with the occasional side trip into some Dam-Funk-esque territory). But this track right here is probably the first track I've heard from him that really caught my attention, despite it not being that much of a stretch from the music he's released in the past. It's still lazy and relaxed as ever; set at a tempo that you could run laps around effortlessly. There's still plenty of light, Rhodes keyboard to go around, giving the song a bit of a aimless drift to it (not a bad thing, mind you). But where the song I think really does stands out is in it's use of samples. It's been awhile since I think a swath of samples have really brought a track together quite like this; giving the some structure and some memorable hooks to it as well. And there's enough variety in the drums to keep it from sounding too repetitive, alternating between a light tap, to a clap, to a slap of the snare. It's just detailed, interesting, and most importantly, fun to listen to that it definitely gets better after multiple listens. Overall this might just be my favorite Mndsgn track yet, and I only hope that the rest of the SNAX mixtape lives up to the quality of this track right here.

Mndsgn's SNAX is out now on Stones Throw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24