Sounds: Wish You Were Here

in #music5 years ago

Some songs just stand the test of time. I was only a Pink Floyd fan for one album til I met my man, who was born and raised on it. Dad bought Dark Side of the Moon and would start on Side B on a Saturday morning on his awesome stereo that he bought when I was about 8 years old. I still remember the sounds of that cash register. He was stoked because you could here it crisp and clear on that system but not on his old one. To this day I can't hear that song without thinking of Dad. That's not a bad thing!


image.png

Image Source

Saturday night was spent with the fam at my sister's. My 13 year old and 10 year old nephews were crash coursing themselves through 'Wish You were Here' as a suprise song for their uncle's birthday, bless 'em.

20190601_200634.jpg

This recording shows their fumbling through - by the end of the night, the 10 year old had it nailed and was singing it all the way through as we drank sangria and ate Mum's awesome portugese tarts (vegan and gluten free, bless her) as we wound up our Spanish themed night.

Only one song this week, but I reckon it's enough, don't you? Some songs just stand the test of time.

So, so you think you can tell
Heaven from hell
Blue skies from pain
Can you tell a green field
From a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?
Did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
Did you exchange
A walk on part in the war
For a lead role in a cage?
How I wish, how I wish you were here
We're just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year
Running over the same old ground
And how we found
The same old fears
Wish you were here



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

The Floyd won't ever go out of style.

DSotM is my least favorite of their records, but still awesome. I think Animals is my favorite. I got to see Roger Waters in San Antonio with my brother in law a couple years back. Best concert I've ever been to, hands down.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that would have been amazing! I.listened to far more since I met Jamie, he loves them. They really are timeless. Did you watch my nephews? So proud. Wish I could play guitar.

Posted using Partiko Android

Trying to watch, but the video isn't loading.

Posted using Partiko Android

There it goes! Wow! Those kids are too young to wield that kind of power. Probably the sexiest guitar intro on Earth.

True!!!

You should see Asher (the youngest) when he has a song down.. he sings too and is a great mimic. I'll try to find the file of him doing I was Only 19. Sends chills down your spine.

Posted using Partiko Android

One of my favorite songs. I only learned how to play it just a couple years ago. Always figured it would be too difficult.
I have often contemplated the lyrics and have developed a whole scenario in my mind as to what they mean.
I have imagined that he is writing to a dear friend who chose to enlist or comply with the draft instead of protesting or avoiding it somehow.
Probably not close but that’s what it says to me. Maybe because of my age.

You took me back to my Uni life 😊. Wish you were here - was one of our favourite song during Uni time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your nephews rock!!! Oh gosh, this songs been with me through so many moments. I always have to turn the stereo super loud and for some reason I like to lie on the ground when I listen to this song. Weird.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87