Sounds From Africa

in #music6 years ago (edited)

drum-953298_1920.jpg
source


Hello steemians!, this is actually my very first post (I did an introduction post earlier). Lately it has been both fun and stressful for me as I am trying to find my way here, get to understand basic stuffs about the platform, content creation and the very complicated cryptocurrency world. The deeper I go into each of this, the bigger and more complicated it gets, but I must confess that I am having fun, learning (in bits) and also trying to develop or maybe create a new area of my life. I must also confess, after reading a couple of posts and viewing some videos in the writing, arts and music sections respectively, I felt a little reluctant or should I say timid to write my first post because of the high quality and superb amount of efforts by some content creators on those mentioned sections. The open mic entries hosted by @luzcypher and @pfunk are super fantastic and entertaining as well, and I am considering participating in the nearest future.

After much deliberation on what I should write about as my first post, I finally resorted to sharing a few tunes from my favourite African contemporary musicians with you and also using this medium to introduce you to these musicians as well. It is not a very serious post so I intend to keep it short and simple and hopefully entertain you with it. Remember it's my first post. Now let's start with:

Richard Bona

There is a popular saying among Cameroonians that as a Cameroonian, you have just two options to choose from when you are born and that is to either play soccer or the bass guitar. Lol. I really don't know how true that is but I know it's just a joke but a kind of joke that tells a lot about Cameroon. I believe most of us know Samuel Eto'o and some of us know Etienne Mbappe and Richard Bona Somehow I stumbled upon a track titled “Souleymane” by richard and Bona and I can't just explain how it made it feel. Lol.


(Souleymane)


As an African and a lover of African art forms, especially music I couldn't just help but YouTube all the Bona songs. It was worth it, it did not waste my time, Bona indeed is a good musician. He plays the bass guitar and I also learnt that he once toured with Jaco Pastorius. Enough said, check out Bona here

Salif Keita

Popularly called “The Golden Voice of Africa” not just because of his albinism but because of musical uniqueness and dexterity. Salif is a member of a very famous royal family in Mali, which is the Keita royal family.
Please check out some of Salif’s sounds and you won't regret you did.
here

Just that for today. Thanks for reading this far, I really hope this entertains you and please show your support by upvoting, commenting and resteeming. Love is a beautiful thing!.

Sort:  

I didn't understand Souleymane but the beat and rhythm is a happy tune which uplifts my spirit. Reminds me of sun, beach, sand and relaxation :D

Wow!, i am glad it did something positive to your spirit, that is the essence of good music and besides, music is a universal language. Thank you for listening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09