The Seed by Aurora - Review and Analysis

in #music5 years ago

source

On April fourth, Aurora released her new single, the Seed, as well as some news about her album.
Her third record will be titled ‘A Different Kind of Human’, similar to the title from 2018 "Infections of a Different Kind", and will be released on 7th June.

source

The music is supposed to be fuel, not against people but for the fire inside us” - Aurora

The track listing is:

  1. The River
  2. Animal
  3. Dance On The Moon
  4. Daydreamer
  5. Hunger
  6. Soulless Creatures
  7. In Bottles
  8. A Different Kind Of Human
  9. Apple Tree
  10. The Seed
  11. Mothership

I am very excited for this, and I hope others are too, but for now we have the singles Animal and the newest one, the Seed. She also created a music video for the Seed that became available on YouTube on April eleventh. Here I will be going through the lyrics of The Seed and what I think they mean.


Just like the seed
I don't know where to go
Through dirt and shadow I grow
I'm reaching light through the struggle

It starts slow, steady, and memorizing. Everyone needs to find a path in life and get through problems, like a seed growing in the ground and reaching for light.

source

Just like the seed
I'm chasing the wonder
I unravel myself
All in slow motion

We don't become who we are overnight, we show our true colors and grow slowly over time, like a seed.

source

source

You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
When the last tree has fallen
And the rivers are poisoned
You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
When the last tree has fallen
And the rivers are poisoned
You cannot eat money oh, no

A melody and beat that gives you an urge to sway to the music. It gives a good reminder that if we destroy nature to become rich, we cannot eat money. The trees, the rivers, and nature are special and we need to take care of them.

source

source

Suffocate me
So my tears can be rain
I will water the ground where I stand
So the flowers can grow back again

She wants to use her sadness to be a fuel to her help the Earth and nature.

source

'Cause just like the seed
Everything wants to live
We are burning our fingers
But we learn and forget

Everything strives to live, sometimes it evokes an animal hostility when we're running low on oxygen or food.

source

You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
When the last tree has fallen
And the rivers are poisoned
You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
When the last tree has fallen
And the rivers are poisoned
You cannot eat money, oh no

This is also a reference to a Cree Indian Proverb which she shows in the beginning of the video:

source

Feed me sunlight, feed me air
Feed me truth and feed me prayer
Feed me sunlight, feed me air
Feed me truth and feed me prayers

Her voice is so unusually deep in the bridge, in a way it sounds haunting and vibrates in you. A seed needs sunlight and air, but truth is also an important thing and what we need.

source

You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
When the last tree has fallen
And the rivers are poisoned
You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
You cannot eat money, oh no
When the last tree has fallen
And the rivers are poisoned
You cannot eat money, oh no


source

In the description for her music video and on her Twitter she wrote this:

I’m missing anger in the youth. Not the blind rage, pointed towards all and nothing. But the kind of rage that wakes you up in the morning, the kind of rage that Inspires you to do something with the power you have in you. So I made a song. Filled with fire. And power. - Aurora

My opinion about this is that, yes, anger can be used as a fuel to motivate someone and cause them to want to stop something bad. But the anger needs to be tamed, when confronting the issue we need to be calm and think rationally, because anger isn't rational. We can't let it become blind rage like she mentioned. Although this is just my opinion, and you may draw something else from this.

If you would like to read other reviews and analyses, here they are below:

Aurora - Infections of a Different Kind review

Animal by Aurora - Lyric and Music Video Analysis

Aurora - I Went Too Far lyric analysis

Sort:  

Nice review @scarletsky 😉 seems like Aurora is very talented on making something simple but meaningful. I like the way she interpreted our concern into good music.

And you... such a nice fan😉

Thank you. I recently wrote another review about another artist's song. Here is the link if you would like to read it: https://steemit.com/music/@scarletskylor/me-taylor-swift-music-video-review I would appreciate it if you did.

Congratulations @scarletskylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85