Si Bheag Si MhorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

This is a piece by Turlough O'Carolan - blind Irish harpist from end of 17th and beginning of 18th century. He wrote many beautiful compositions and songs and by some is considered Irish national composer.

Sort:  

Congratulations @shephard! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @shephard! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What an amazing piece of music :) its so hard to tell that it is from the 17 century, Irish music influenced modern folk so much.
That guitar is really well preserved @shephard I can see from the sound that the wood is completely dry, correct me if I am wrong but I would give that guitar 40+ years, such an amazing clarity in the sound.

I have a big "all talent" contest on steemit, it be cool if you joined the next round, you can check what its about here

Pretty good guess! I bought that guitar in '79 and I take it everywhere with me. It's been in -40C and in +50C. It still has an amazing sound most of the time. It really depends on the weather. Sometimes it has it's bad days. Once in a while I have to have some work done on it. I think it's due one repair session soon.

I'll check out your "all talent contest", but unfortunately not the next one. I am leaving tomorrow for almost two weeks to Montenegro for some trekking guide work. Needless to say they will be no access to internet there.

Ah cool yes, my bet was that guitar was from late 70's, she is a beaut, and I know what you mean when you say it depends on the weather, had a share of those :) still, that guitar is irreplaceable, back in 70's wood used for acoustic was still having a minimum of 10-20 years curation, so add this 40, its 60 years curated wood, which resonates specifically in resonance on the shape on how it was dried in the past 40 years, I hope I find guitar similar to that one soon :) ...

@shephard Monte Negro?
Ah that is close to me, I'm in Croatia :)

The brand name is Yamaki, they don't exist anymore. I heard that Yamaha swallowed them.
Croatia - nice, just around the corner.

To get upvote from @artzone, the post needs at least 108 characters! We understand great art speaks for itself, so we kept the word count low

Thanks to @ivan.atman for spotting that great work ! Well done mate!!

I am loving this jam session, and this is another folk song from you that I have never heard of and am thoroughly enjoying!

Keep it up! I especially love things I've never heard of ;p

Thanks, I remember how much I liked this tune when I first discovered it and started to learn it. Couldn't play anything else for a whole week. :))))

Where do you go to find these very old traditional songs? How are you discovering the lost music of the past?!

Well, I learn a lot of them from friends. This one I heard few times played and then I heard it again on good old Youtube. So I learned it and adopted it to my style. I pick songs from all over really. From India, Arabian world, Balkans, Eastern Europe, Jewish, also US and Canada. Off course Ireland and UK some French, some South American. There is so much fantastic music there...

I love music! I am so happy to have found you on here, to follow you and to experience these mysterious forgotten treasures that you find!

Congrats on 50 rep!


By the way...

Have you heard of the byteball airdrop? Just tell me if you are not interested, but its 40 dollars in byteball for doing about 10 minutes of set up, so let me know if you are interested and I can walk you through, and then I get some free byteball too. A friend of mine started the @balls2steem account so you can sell this new coin for steem if you like.

I have heard of them, but I am not so sure what they are. I looked it up a bit, it seemed quite complicated, but if you walk me through it I might give it a try. I am not really tech-savy too much...

Hi there! Welcome back to steem, how was the trip across the mountains?

Nice as always. Montenegro is such a great place! Beautiful mountains and people are so friendly.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much! You are giving me a big help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83