Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part OnesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genres that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

There's a ton of information out there on how Phil Collins became the frontman of Genesis after the departure of Peter Gabriel so I won't go into the history of all this again.

To cover the ‘Collins’ period in one post would be a little much so I will split this into two parts. Whereas some of my ‘Focus on’ posts I can say I know some of the band’s discography, with this one I’m very conversant with most of the material except the final album, ‘We Can’t Dance'.

I’m personally glad that Peter Gabriel exited Genesis in 1974 for TWO reasons. The first is that he went on to become a great solo artist having much of his success in the next decade, and the second that Genesis evolved into a different beast that was less theatrical but lost none of its potency for quality.

zh8u5o0stq.jpg

Source

The band was to have more success without Peter Gabriel though mainstream mass notice-ability would come much later.

The first two albums in the post Gabriel era, in my opinion, were simply stunning and so I will focus on these first.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Genesis - Mad Man Moon (A Trick of the Tail – 1976)

A Trick of the Tail is regarded by many as the finest material that Genesis ever produced.

In 1976 punk was emerging but these guys were still telling us stories within their music of beasts that when captured dissolved into tears, robbers being caught red-handed and this one about deserts and muddy pitches in Newcastle.

I still have no idea what its about after hundreds of listens but its one of the highlights of this album for me. Mad Man Moon is a very symphonic and an almost classical piece of music at times which takes a few listens to appreciate.

I could have picked almost any of the EIGHT songs from ‘A Trick of the Tail', its simply that good.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Genesis – Blood on the Rooftops (Wind and Wuthering – 1977)

Wind and Wuthering has long been my favourite Genesis album though it doesn’t rank so highly with the masses and in popular ratings. I saw this clip from Wikipedia but can’t really understand it.

When recording finished, Banks expressed some concern that the album would be too "heavy" and "difficult" for people on their first listen, but he knew fans would give the material a chance.

I can never remember it being 'too heavy' but everyone has their own perceptions and opinions when it comes to music.

The use of french horns makes this song so seventies, an instrument we don't really hear anymore and that guitar work by Steve Hackett at the beginning is exquisite.

Sadly, Hackett left after Wind and Wuthering, and I know this album is closest to his heart as he plays many of the songs now in his Genesis Revisited concerts.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Genesis – Burning Rope (...And Then There Were Three... – 1978)

The album title, of course, refers to the departure of Steve Hackett and this album signalled a shift in the band to some shorter songs of varying quality. While I would not say they had gone off the rails, this is my least favourite album of the FOUR mentioned today.

However, it did spawn the top ten song, ‘Follow you, Follow me' which brought the band mainstream attention; me included.

Burning Rope is a no brainer for me, the highlight song of the album, with Mike Rutherford showing us his guitar skills in the centre part solo.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Genesis –Duke’s Travels (Duke – 1980)

I think I almost wore out my copy of ‘Duke’ I played it that much. This album was my introduction to the band and what an album to pick! Like the previous one, we see more short songs and some of the material that Phil Collins would record on his debut solo album,’ Face Value’.

Unlike ‘...And Then There Were Three...', ‘Duke' is solid and quality. There are throwbacks to the old Genesis and one you can hear is my pick of ‘Duke's Travels', which is a long meandering mostly instrumental track of over eight minutes with a simply stunning guitar climax in which Phil comes in and performs some end vocals.

Duke for me was the last of the great Genesis albums, and it was downhill from there. That’s not to say they didn't had their moments later but it was never the same.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Personally, this period of FOUR albums represents the pinnacle of their discography, though Gabriel fans would disagree.

Three of the four albums I mention are simply exceptional in their quality and music, and I would recommend ‘Duke’ as an entry point for anyone who wants to give them a try.


33xz0etc68.jpg



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:

Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Gabriel Years
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘The Pixies’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Sonic Youth’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Talking Heads’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Blackfield’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Tears for Fears'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Kate Bush'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Smiths'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Radiohead'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Rush'


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

It's funny - And Then There Were Three was the album that really made me sit up and take notice of Genesis. I'm not as keen on the Duke track, though I don't dislike it - it might grow on me. I love Mad Man Moon and Blood on the Rooftops - "exquisite" perfectly describes that guitar intro.

'And Then There Were Three' is a great album compared to most others, I meant in the context of compared to those other three. I played it to death just like all the others and had the vinyl... once. They were all sold years back.

One day I will get the Genesis back catalogue and play it all on a long car journey. Been meaning to do that for years!

Nice write up. I am going to have to check some of these out. I really am only familiar with the stuff that was on the radio so I am going to have to go back and dig into these. I have a couple of Phil Collins solo albums that I really like on vinyl.

They are not like the Collins solo material, though I do like some of that stuff too.

I just listened to "Duke" and "And then there were three" moving on to "Wind and Wuthering" next.

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

My mum and dad were big fans. A trick of the tale stood on the records rack throughout my childhood. They split before I was old enough to remember, and my dad had written something either side of the text which my mum never fully explained properly to me - a jibe of sorts I think!

This post led me to the Radiohead one - couldn't resist a look over there :)

That cover is something that would stick in your mind as a kid, I think I would be drawn to it.

Hi @slobberchops. I've loved the songs "Mad Man Moon" and "Burning Rope". I looked up the guitar chords for "Mad Man Moon" the other day, wow!

"Don't live today for tomorrow, like you were immortal."

You sound like your familiar with these songs already, 'Mad' is a very piano driven piece.

I remember what Phil Collins said about Tony Banks when someone interviewed him about "Hold On My Heart" suggesting that Phil had told him what to play on key sand Phil said something like "no one tells Tony what to play". Thanks for sharing all this Mr Chops.

This is delightful. I had no idea Genesis was around for so long! Listening to W&W right now and really enjoying it.

Great recommendation!

Posted using Partiko Android

I wish I had all their discography to go through again, after 30 years I'm still listening to their songs.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oh man. Genesis.

I haven't listened to Genesis in Forever. The music tends to be a jam but also very relaxing at the same time. Really brings me back. Those are some great memories.

They put out some pretty solid songs and were popular over here. Not sure if they were as big here as there.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.279 which ranks you at #2635 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 22 places in the last three days (old rank 2657).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 430 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88