Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Stone Temple Pilots'

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genres that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

I remember in the Grunge years of the early nineties, a certain amount of hate about this band, and still am not sure what all that was about. Were Stone Temple Pilots not considered a grunge band?

Personally I don’t feel they are and would consider them more mainstream rock, but Grunge or not they did strike a chord with me when I encountered the single, ‘Plush’.

scott we.jpg
Source

To say I’m a hard core fan would be untrue, though I did buy the CD Album, ‘Core’ and picked up one of their other hits via the Guitar Hero games in the noughties.

It seems like many of the singers from this period of time are now dead and Scott Weiland falls into this category along with Chris Cornell (Soundgarden), Layne Staley (Alice in Chains) and Kurt Cobain (Nirvana).

We still have Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam), but being a singer in a nineties grunge band appeared to be a hazardous career choice in hindsight.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Stone Temple Pilots - Plush (Core – 1992)


The biggest hit from the most popular album was a winner for me.

It’s not generally the type of music that I’m attracted to now, but this was almost 30 years ago and my tastes have progressively gone stranger since then.

This is undoubtedly their most recognisable hit attaining chart success and mainstream radio coverage.

If you don’t like this song, then the band is probably not your cup of tea, so to speak.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Stone Temple Pilots - Sin (Core – 1992)


'Sin' is probably my pick of the album tracks from 'Core'.

A song that starts the same way as it finishes is with a great riff is always good, but most of it can be described as , 'A big dumb rock song'.

The quiet section in the middle has some great subtle guitar work and makes up in most part for the dumbness.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Stone Temple Pilots - Trippin' On A Hole In A Paper Heart (Tiny Music... Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop – 1996)


After the short names of the other songs and album referenced, it seemed they had to make up for it by having super long names for both single and album on this occasion.

I played this to death on Guitar Hero II and really got to the dig the chorus. The verses not so much.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Stone Temple Pilots - Creep (Core – 1992)


Not to be confused with the Radiohead song of the same name, 'Creep' is a slower song and more acoustic than the other offerings.

This doesn't make it any less attractive and is my final pick. If you prefer something a little easier to listen to then click this one first.


33xz0etc68.jpg

One of the comments on the YouTube comments section for 'Creep' says this:

RIP Kurt Cobain
RIP Layne Staley
RIP Scott Weiland
RIP Chriss Cornell
RIP Chester Bennington

Just why have we lost all these great singers to terrible tragedies?

Scott_Weiland_(Stone_Temple_Pilots)_Open_Air_St._Gallen.jpg
Source

Stone Temple Pilots are still producing music with a new vocalist, 'Jeff Gutt'. I cant say I have listed to any of their new offerings since Scott died. Vocalist are hard to replace as they tend to epitomise a band sound.

There's no doubt in my mind that Scott Weiland had that 'grunge voice'. Perhaps that's why they were put down so much during the nineties. The voice was there, but the music was more rock.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

STP has some great songs out there and yes, I recall vividly when they rushed on the scene during the Seattle invasion. I think they evolved with the times better than many other bands and Scott's voice I think was better than most of the singers during that time.

Later they had a song and I don't know the real name of it, that said "what would you do if i followed you" and had a video with Buffy the Vampire Slayer in it and she was looking hot. Sarah Michelle Gellar I think?

Anyway, I only bought the "Core" album also but to be fair i think most people stopped buying albums altogether about a decade after Core was released :P

I had to look this up.. and found it quite easily.

This is a lot more poppy than the 'Core' material. I will need to listen to it umpteen times before I can say good, bad etc..., I don't get into music very easily.

The music video was released to accompany this single, and stars Sarah Michelle Gellar, who was a huge fan of the band, as the female lead in the video. At the time, Gellar was a rising star thanks to her TV series Buffy the Vampire Slayer and her movies Cruel Intentions and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

I know a guy who is a huge STP fan. I had to ask his wife if he was okay when Scott passed away. I think part of the hate for them might have been the fact that people felt they were too similar to Pearl Jam and were ripping them off. I could be wrong though.

Hmm, I don't hear the resemblance myself. I don't know what all that was about.

I love 90s. The best time of music.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was..., the last decade before it all went to shit.

I hardly ever listen to the songs after 2000.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Eugh. Never liked em. Thought they were pure pop. Offended my metal sensibilities :0)

Ah this is what I remember..., did you like the other grunge bands? Pop...? I would say more Rock... when I think Pop... its...

I did like some of the gnarlier grunge bands. Bros, lol. When I hear Stone Temple Pilots that's what I hear, hehe!!

Hehehe... Bros was torture..., finding this clip and listening to the first few seconds was giving me ear pain ;)

Yeah, that was a special kind of bad!

I remember back in the 90’s there were no local bands in my area covering Stone Temple Pilot, I don’t really understand why. Perhaps because of the reason you’ve said: While Scott Weiland’s voice was grunge, but the music is too soft, too pop rock. If i recall, no one in my local scene bought their Cassette or CDs. We only heard them on MTV :)

I dig their chords progression tho, mainly for Plush and Interstate Love Song. They have nice tunes. 😸

Yes I still love Plush, it got played to death here in the UK. Loved all the true 'grunge' from those times too.

I was in high school and first year college during those times where Metal bands are so popular @slobberchops and my favorite was the Grunge genre popularized by Nirvana which is my favorite band until now.


This song is so good but so short :/

In Utero was my favourite Nirvana album, much more crazy than Nevermind was. I bought it after learning the fate of Kurt in 1994. Great songs on there.

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7250 replies. Your next target is to reach 7500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.513 which ranks you at #1943 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1944).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@slobberchops You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34