Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘The Sisters of Mercy'

in #music5 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genres that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

Goth music, does it still exist? In the 80’s it was prevalent and bands such as The Mission, Jesus and Mary Chain and The Sisters of Mercy were in the public eye.

I couldn’t get to grips with the Jesus and Mary Chain, The Mission I was a fan of and The Sisters of Mercy were just a bit too weird for me.

Andrew_Eldritcholder.jpg
Source

If you looked at me during this time I was quite normal. I didn’t have dyed black hair, black clothes, black finger polish, black shades or a big wide black hat either. You could be a closet Goth if you chose to be.

Much later and while working at CapGemini in 2008 one of the blokes suggested I listen to the Sisters of Mercy, ‘First and Last and Always’ debut album. I did and it hit me right away.

The Mission was the band that I listened to most, but I’m writing about Wayne Husseys’ previous band, the ‘ill-fated ones’.


Andrew_Eldritch2009.jpg
Source

I say ‘Ill-fated’, in the sense that the same thing happened to King Crimson with their ‘Court’ album. One album and many key members left.

Andrew Eldritch was and still is the key voice of the band and what a voice it is. Have you heard anything like it before? These ‘voices’ seem to come from the 80’, strange, exaggerated and unorthodox.

Floodland and its singles, "This Corrosion" and "Dominion” just didn’t hit my spot so I will be using songs only from their debut.


33xz0etc68.jpg

The Sisters of Mercy – Black Planet (First and Last and Always – 1985)

It’s a Black Planet and a Black World, and here they are in an open top car with all the black gear on!

Honestly Goth had me laughing at time and still does to this day. The music however is driving (no pun), solid and compelling.

Black Planet was released as a single but I can’t remember it, even though these guys did hit the lower reaches of the top 40 regularly.


33xz0etc68.jpg

The Sisters of Mercy – Marian (First and Last and Always – 1985)

This image of shrouded hidden mystery always seemed to follow the Sisters of Mercy. Black hats and black shades were the normal and now you can listen to one of the deepest of voices ever heard only matched by Lee Marvin’s, ‘Wand'rin' Star’ or Yello's 'Oh Yeah'.

If I wake up with a cold virus in the morning then I may have a chance of being able to sing Marian at the same octave level as Mr Eldritch. Listen for the verse sang in German!


33xz0etc68.jpg

The Sisters of Mercy – Some Kind of Stranger (First and Last and Always – 1985)

When listening to music which has a strange vocal I often focus on the music. The final song on ‘and Last and Always’ has a great buzzing guitar riff all the way through and just gets better the closer you get to the end of the song.

This ‘Love Song’ is my favourite song from the album by far, especially the last two minutes.

I’m sure its Wayne Hussey playing that guitar and what he did next with The Mission never quite matched this one in my opinion.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Despite my outlook on Goth music as ‘amusing’, it’s just the concept of everything being most definitely BLACK that causes me to smirk a little.

The thought of sunburn and anything but the whitest of skin appeared to be another big no no!

image.png
Source

The music generally is great if you can get used to that weird wobbly voice. There’s no doubt it is depressing as hell but that’s OK, its just the way I like it!


33xz0etc68.jpg



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:

Focus on ‘The Sundays' // Focus on ‘Muse'
Focus on ‘Nirvana' // Focus on ‘Anathema'
Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part One // Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part Two
Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Gabriel Years // Focus on ‘The Pixies’
Focus on ‘Sonic Youth’ // Focus on ‘Talking Heads’
Focus on ‘Blackfield’ // Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Focus on 'Tears for Fears' // Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Focus on 'Kate Bush' // Focus on 'The Smiths'
Focus on 'Radiohead' // Focus on 'Rush'


Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Ohhhh! Goth... You lost me. ;) The music is deep and dark, although The Cure was floating around my house... and perhaps that was more punk rock than goth? I like that, but, boy did I just show my ignorance.

I am what I am

The Cure are a decent band, but more alternative than goth. They are a band Ill be convering soon.

Just so you don't think I am totally ignorant, I was actually thinking they were punk rock, but alternative sounds more right. Thank you!

That's alright, if it sounds punk to you.. then it is! Robert Smith did play with the Banshees for a while who were considered punk.

:) Oh, you are a pleaser!! Thank you!

Never was into Goth. Yes the all black seemed to be a few too many rules lol. Not Goth but just saying, I did like Alice in Chains, especially unplugged.

Love Alice too, they are on my hit list for the future!

Good stuff! I spent a whole day last week listening to The Sunday's. I knew I was familiar with their stuff. I think "Goodbye" might be one of my favorites of theirs.

I have heard more of their songs in the US than here. In diners and malls, the songs would come floating into my ears. They had a big following there, and spurned it all.

For sure!

Thanks for deciding my afternoon listening!
Love the Sisters, but never seen them live. Not that they tour often.
Unlike you, I got into them via the 'Floodland' album, with it's Jim Steinman productions. Went back to 'First and Last' and am about to play the whole thing.
Plus of course there's the compilations: "Some Girls Wander By Mistake" = essential early stuff; "A Slight Case of Overbombing" = late stuff.
The ultimate goth is 'Death' in Neil Gaiman's Sandman comics.

Good to see another fan. I didn't think anyone would remember its so long ago now. I know they did some EP's before 'First', but this is all I have heard. Its kind of 'Focus' on that album in this case.

A couple of years ago they played europe

Part of our amazing indie/goth history from Leeds. The early to mid 80s were awesome and we had so many live music venues back then.
Le phonographique was the place for Goths back then. Happy days

I know Wayne emerged from Leeds, but was that the case for all of them?

As far as Im aware...or my memory serves....off to google brb ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup. Claimed for the White rose! Seems Andrew Eldritch was a freelance punk drummer before Sisters om the Leeds scene but that really was before my time!
Great piece. Enjoyed that :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 431 (03/17/19)

Hey Slob,

What a nice read ... Sisters are a classic band.

I’m doing something simular with my ‘classic albums that you must have heard before you die’ series.

Maybe you should check it out if you have the time

Greets from Europe

https://steemit.com/music/@elektropunkz/classic-albums-that-you-must-have-heard-before-you-die-3-tool-undertow

Upvoted by @lk666 for the new heavy music and art curation trail known as the Circle Of Death Curation Trail of Glory! Follow us on
https://steemauto.com and join the Metal Tribe of Steemit https://discord.gg/Aqp4Z2X to meet and get to know more Steemian metalheads!

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.434 which ranks you at #2206 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2195).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14