Metal Weekend : THREE from Anathema

in #music6 years ago (edited)

So here are my THREE offerings for this weekend.

Why not checkout the @detlev post and send some new tunes to listen too? The main post is here.

z2weqzc19l.jpg

My tastes tend to be more to progressive metal and alternative so this is what you will probably expect from me today and going forward.


33xz0etc68.jpg

After being disturbed by @bingbabe at some ridiculous time this morning I could not get back to sleep again, so here I am drinking yesterdays left-over percolated coffee and authoring today’s ‘Metal Weekend’ at 6am on Saturday morning.

I was aware that she was planning to conquer Ingleborough today, another one of those three peaks mountains in the Yorkshire Dales with her mountaineering buddy.

I’m happy to let her; I’m not getting up at this time for anyone!

A couple of my followers, notably @jalayn and @catweasel mentioned that they liked what they heard of the Anathema song that was featured in my recent article, so I thought I would follow up on this.

I mentioned that I thought the band was decent but a little patchy and I stand by this fact. There have been many changes in the music styles of Anathema from their early years in 1990 with the debut album ‘Serenades’ which featured growling vocals to their more recent offering. ‘The Optimist’.

Your can read this history here, and I wont repeat what’s already been said, more voice my opinions on what I have heard.

I can’t say anything resonated from the band until the 4th album, ‘Alternative 4’, which appears to be some kind of tribute to Pink Floyd’s, ’The Wall’.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Anathema – Fragile Dreams

One of the first tracks that really hit the spot with me is this crowd pleaser. They always seem to play this at their concerts and it is one of their more popular tracks from the ‘Alternative 4’ album.

Listen for that Scouser accent in the first lyric section!

Countless times I trusted you

Anathema - Regret

The whole ‘Alternative 4’ album is quite a gloomy affair and no more so than this song. I didn’t get to grips with it right away as usual for me, but it’s one that I listen to regularly now.

It takes a while to get going, but persevere as it does get rockier as it goes along. Oh and bring the tissues when listening, it’s quite an emotional ride. You can hear it in the vocals.

Visions of love and hate
A collage behind my eyes

Anathema – Emotional Winter

Now this one is a real classic and one of their finest moments. I loved if from the first play, and that is rare. David Gilmour overtones to start, and is it a slow ballad? Not at all! If you liked "A Simple Mistake", you will like this one.

I may cover this band again in a future article as there is so much more to them than the three songs offered today. Hope you enjoy the songs.

Pump up the volume, PLAY IT LOUD!

Guitar Image coutesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642

This post was created in #esteem thanks @good-karma


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Metal? More like progressive rock to me. If these 3 + 1 tracks are close to typical I give them a 10. I'll be adding them to my collection this week.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

My tastes tend to be more to progressive metal and alternative so this is what you will probably expect from me today and going forward.

My disclaimer, though I'm thinking of starting #alternativeweekend, as its more me than metal.

Going to listen them in a bit,wanted to beat the auto vote lol

Really nice tunes, but the one that steals the show for me is definitely Emotional Winter. Until he starts to sing, it just feels 100% Pink Floyd to me, very similar for a few sevonds to Marooned (love that moody instrumental); if I did not knew I would think it was one of their "lost" songs.

Also forgot to say it in my other comment, but congratulations to England! 👍 if all goes well I hope we (France) will meet in the finale 😎

I thought that one my do it for you. Some songs get you right away, and that did for me.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 190 (7/09/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89