The Music of Death - Did you choose yours?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I couldn’t think of a fitting title for this article, it could have been named, ‘Funeral Songs’ or ‘What does your ghost want to hear?’ or ‘The last song ever’, but the crux of it is what do you want played at your funeral?

4tiozc2eod.jpg

Source

Is this too morbid a subject to talk about? Possibly but I will continue regardless as several times I have mentioned to @bingbabe that I would like this song or that song to be played at my funeral.

She always shies away from the subject, and I’m quite sure she won’t remember what I have requested. Now she can read this article that is permanently on the block-chain so there can be no excuses.

My wife likes conventional music, and is one of these people that repeatedly plays the same song over and over again, frankly driving me insane sometimes. If it’s not ‘I Run to You’ by Lady Antebellum then it’s ‘Many of Horror’ by Biffy Clyro. I really don’t care to EVER hear either song again.


r17jse9xn2.jpg

Back to the funeral topic; I seem to be attending more and more of them as I age. So far, they have been my friends’ mothers or fathers or in my case, my own father many years ago.

I have been fortunate enough so far to not have attended any of my friend’s funerals and I hope it will be many years before I have to.

I am expecting different types of music to be played at some future funerals. Crematoriums are respectful, quiet places where we show respect and remember the people we once knew, whether they be family or friends.

fnb8je12vq.jpg

Source

The music played is usually serene but sometimes happy to remind us of the person who left us in a positive way; don’t we?

Do I want this at my funeral? No bloody way!

There may be serenity but I want guitars, and they better turn up that damn volume too. None of this, ‘I can barely hear the music’, levels.

It’s unlikely that anyone attending my funeral will have heard the song(s) I choose too. Why do people want to hear that radio friendly song they have heard 10,000 times before?

Bugger that too! My choice(s) will all be weird album tracks.

This is MY funeral and I will play that weird loud guitar music, and you funeral directors better get used to it, because some the new generation of people dying are likely to be Metal Heads rather than Patsy Cline fans.


r17jse9xn2.jpg

My choices are always changing; it started with ‘Afterglow’ – Genesis. The lyrics are appropriate, it’s quite serene, and you probably have never heard it before though it is considered a band anthem.

Like the dust that settles all around me I must find a new home
The ways and holes that used to give me shelter They're all as one to me now.


Later I changed my mind to ‘High Hopes’ – Pink Floyd. It’s quite subdued and sombre with the bell, and the lyrics are once again in remembrance, but check out that guitar at the end.

Beyond the horizon of the place we lived when we were young
In a world of magnets and miracles
Our thoughts strayed constantly and without boundary
The ringing of the division bell had begun

More recently, I have changed ‘my song’ once again. Now it’s, ‘One Last Goodbye’ – Anathema. I can almost guarantee you have never heard of the touching song that was a tribute to the mother of the Cavanagh brothers on her death. The lyrics are perfect:

How I needed you
How I grieve now, you're gone
In my dreams I see you
I'm awake, so alone


It has everything, it’s a song of loss, it’s serene, but has all those noisy guitars the further it gets going. I want to blast out the eardrums of those dowdy funeral directors and make their eyelids rise in surprise and shock at what they are hearing.

There will be no Jim Reeves, Frank Sinatra, Bobby Darin for me. I will leave that for the people who have died before me. There had better be some guitars or there’s gonna be trouble!

I'll be playing air guitar while standing on top of the coffin before they send me in to burn, you had better believe it.

Skull Icon courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/12106

This post was created in #esteem thanks @good-karma


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Interesting question. At first, I think ‘Afterglow’ – Genesis can be a good choice for my hubby because he love so much Genesis. About MY funeral (sure, it will be when I'll be more than 100 years old :P ) I'm not sure, but I'd like to hear Ashes To Ashes by David Bowie :D

Ashes To Ashes by David Bowie

Quite a fitting title I would say, and I do approve being a Bowie fan.

I attended a funeral of a young Pink Floyd fan in the early nineties. Sorrow and Wish You Were Here were played in the church. It was amazing. People still talk about it to this day.

That's sounds good, or good music at least. Sorrow is quite a loud track.

Oh it was loud mate. It sounded incredible in the church. I can still feel it now. There were goosebumps all round.

That sounds like my kind of funeral, If I had to go to one that is.

A funeral that everyone enjoyed. The poor lad was taken too young at 22 but he is remembered fondly and no one who was there could forget it. I would like a similar funeral. I've not thought about what songs I would choose yet. Maybe it's time I started as we're not getting any younger.

I have already made my list of songs a very long time ago. And still it is actual...

  1. Roots bloody roots - Sepultura
  2. Always with you. always with me - Joe Satriani
  3. For the love of god - Steve Vai

Only for the first my wife hopes she won't make that one :P

Sepultura - Roots Bloody Roots

Haha... Death growls too, I'm sure the dust will be shaking on the undertakers shoulders. They may ban you from the crematorium for attempting to play this one :)

lol, that's what my wife said to !! "You are never gonna get that played" :)

This might be a little bit weird, but I'd pick Perfect Day by Lou Reed. Kind of as a joke, but mainly because it's one of my favorite songs.

I don't know why, but I have really never been able to get into Pink Floyd. It isn't that I don't like their music. I guess I just don't appreciate it like other people do. At this point, I think my song would probably be 'Rain King' by Counting Crows. Either that or 'A Murder of One' also by them.

"Exit Music" by Savatage:

Very sombre; I might be able to play this with a little practice.

Hello @slobberchops, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I think it would have to be Jeff Buckley's haunting version of Dido's Lament by Purcell, which he performed at the Meltdown festival in 1995. And it would be the original raw version complete with background hiss, not one of the digitally remastered versions.
A while ago I heard that Highway to Hell was the most popular funeral music choice by Australians :)

I don't really care. I will be dead, but I hope that the people who gather will celebrate the life I lived and freedom from this physical world.

Something upbeat, maybe?

Ha, I've often thought of this question myself. I used to have them all three selected out and would often inform my mother of my newest musical choice if i changed something, but nowadays I am not so sure anymore. Funny you have something by Pink Floyd - I once wanted Comfortably Numb for my funeral. Is that cliché? :)

But I'm not sure anymore. After my grandmother passed away many years ago, some music has never been the same for me again. Whenever I hear certain songs I can't help but remember the funeral and feel saddened in some way. While I would love to enrich my family and friends that I leave behind with some proper good music, I would hate it if I spoiled the music for them in the same way, making them never able to enjoy the song ever again.

Also, I'm not sure I want sad, gloomy music anymore.

I love 'Comfortably Numb' but its one of the songs that has now been overplayed in my head. I rarely listen to it now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84