Fly Above~ How I make a Song

in #music5 years ago (edited)



When first joining Steemit, over a year ago, I was overwhelmed with all the talent that I saw. I had no idea where my place here was going to be. I was here to help out two people I loved and cared about. I was under no illusions that I had anything to offer the people of Steemit.

Most of you know I started doing the daily freewrite on day seven. It was so much fun to try and come up with a story where there were not any rules but to have fun. Those rules I could follow!! Fun is always needed in life.

From doing the daily freewrite I learned many things. The best thing of all was to trust myself when it came to writing down what popped into my mind. From the positive feedback and encouragement, I received, I began to expand on Freewriting just a bit. I started to make songs. Spoken stories set to music to be exact. I had a ball doing this.

Below is the format I follow most times when making a song. I will be honest and say my makeup and hair never look that good when I know I will just be recording the words as they come into my head. 😁



How to



I always start with a word in mind. A word that for whatever reason has meaning to me that day. I use Audacity, a free sound program, to record my voice. For this post, I recorded me on video at the same time. The one word in my head was Fly. I hit record on both the audio and video, closed my eyes and spoke from my soul. One take was all I did.



Before you go any father, always remember to save your original voice recording.




The most frustrating part is next. You need to find music that matches your story, voice, and tone. I have learned to play around with speed, tone and all kinds of things I have no idea what they are to get the music to match what I am trying to convey in my story. Once again needing to trust in yourself.



The stories are made in my head on the spot. They are just spoken out loud into a microphone. I don't have any real record of what I just said which means some more boring bits to do.

Go back through what you just said, the sooner the better, and slowly go over the recording a billion times writing down each word spoken so you have a record of it.



The last part you have to do is my favorite part of all. It has a few tricky sides to it but once again, never give up. It's now time to match your voice to the video of you talking or singing. This can take one try or one-hundred and five tries. I have not yet found an easy workaround for this. I do this in my video editor. I use Filmora-Wondershare as my film editor. I just have the basic priced one.

Once you have the voice matching I would highly suggest you create a video of just that.



Import your new video with the correct sound and start from there to add any filters or overlays you might want. This works much easier I have found. If you have too many layers it always seems to throw off the voice matching your lips. I have been known to export a video more than three times to get it just how I want it to look in the end.

Editing is never a place I feel you should rush through or I'm just not very good at it........but let's keep that between us, shall we!

Last export your video and listen to your newest creation!



Fly Above



fly up to the sky
taking it all in
the world below
the sound, that comes
the quiet peaceful
stars above
above where you belong
above where you belong and wish to be
the stars, the stars, are there
twinkling in the night
waiting, for your dreams to come true
waiting, for people to wish on them
for them, to come tumbling down
to grant the wish
that we only know
to grant
us
the secret that we only know
Fly above
fly above
fly above the night
fly above and feel the freedom
that you get, while in flight
look at the stars
make sure you stop
and say hello
for they will be there
when your dream
does
come
true

~@Snook



YouTube Video





I hope this has helped you realize what you can do if you put just a tiny bit of faith in yourself!!



Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you.

Love,

Snook



Vote for Witness Enginewitty!

Vote for Witness Steemgigs!

Vote for Witness Jackmiller!

Vote for Witness Guiltyparties!

Vote for Witness C0ff33a / Deranged!

SNOOK.gif

The STEEM Engine

Snooks Alliance Footer.gif

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

AHHHHHHHHH!
I LOVE THIS! SO MUCH.
I'll stop yelling now and give you a hug.
((hugglepounces))

HUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <3

Ooooh can I read this

Yes you can :D

Excellent, love the poetry , awesome my dear friend. be well

Thank you so much @krazypoet for stopping to read my poem. I am very proud of this one so very happy you liked it too.

wow the drama was intense and the smoke effect super cool!

Thank you so much @eaglespirit!!!

You are so welcome!! 🙌🏽

I love EVERYTHING, your poetry, your passion, your editing with these amazing fairy tale like smoke effects ... WOWOWOWOWOWOW ... this is so beautiful, still so touched, have to calm down before I am able to write again ... <3 thank you @snook

THANK YOU!!!!!!! YOU made my day in so many ways that you will never know. I am so happy it touched your heart.

Thank You again!!

It really really did ... watched it many times ... sending love to you right from my heart @snook <3

OMFGs that was so coooool. I had no idea that you 'wrote' such beautiful poetry.... there's more to you than just game streams, clearly 😉🙏🏽💜

many layers, yes......never judge a book and all LOLLL

I am very happy you liked my poem and video. It means a lot to me. Thanks for stopping by

Wonderful and uplifting, I sometimes think we all could do with flying away - or taking a flight somewhere different.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

THAT would be so cool to be able to do. I wish I could

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71