Music breakdown 1 - I’m with you (Avril Lavigne)

in #music6 years ago

Long post alert (lol) 😁😁😁, I hope you enjoy it.
Everyone at one point or the other had felt lonely, but this song describes another feeling of loneliness, Avril knows this feeling all too well and did a good job pouring out those words in a beautiful rhythm, forget that the song is an old song in her album released in 2002, you can still relate to most of those words because you must have either been there or you are there now (except you have never found yourself).
At one point when I listened to it, I thought it was a heartbreak song, I thought it was a girl waiting for her man to come and save her from the mess of her numerous heartbreaks, alas that man was nowhere to be found.
Recently I listened to that song again and it all came to me, most of us if not all must have felt this kind of loneliness, where no one, not even yourself understands you. The only thing you realise is that you don’t belong where you are and you really want to find yourself and where you truly belong.

   This song describes a cold, scared, lonely, confused and lost girl who thought her life had been well planned out, but eventually gets to a cross road (the bridge), where she realised her already planned life was not waiting for her, without knowing which way to go or where to turn, understanding that a wrong move could drown and kill her, she stood waiting, crying out in desperation wishing that someone somewhere (man or woman) would come and lead her out of her misery and take her home where she truly belongs. 

LYRICS
I'm standing on a bridge
I'm waiting in the dark
I thought that you'd be here by now
There's nothing but the rain
No footsteps on the ground
I'm listening but there's no sound

Isn't anyone trying to find me?
Won't somebody come take me home?

It's a damn cold night
Trying to figure out this life
Won't you take me by the hand?
Take me somewhere new
I don't know who you are
But I... I'm with you
I'm with you

I'm looking for a place
I'm searching for a face
Is anybody here I know
'Cause nothing's going right
And everything's a mess
And no one likes to be alone

Isn't anyone trying to find me?
Won't somebody come take me home?

It's a damn cold night
Trying to figure out this life
Won't you take me by the hand?
Take me somewhere new
I don't know who you are
But I... I'm with you
I'm with you

Oh why is everything so confusing
Maybe I'm just out of my mind
Yeah-he-yaa, yeah-he-yah, yeah-he-yah, yeah-he-yah, yeah!

It's a damn cold night
Trying to figure out this life
Won't you take me by the hand?
Take me somewhere new
I don't know who you are
But I... I'm with you
I'm with you

Take me by the hand
Take me somewhere new
I don't know who you are
But I... I'm with you
I'm with you

Take me by the hand
Take me somewhere new
I don't know who you are
But I... I'm with you
I'm with you
I'm with you...

P. S: I plan on doing this every Thursday, I would be waiting to hear if this is a good idea and song suggestions are also welcome.

Video credit : YouTube.

Sort:  

Hi @soorefunmi, would love to read more such music posts :) There's a lot of trash in the music section and some personal experiences with music/songs are a welcome diversion ;)

I am glad you like it @twolittlebirds, I would love to post more too.

Yes, keep these type of post coming. I like personal stories and adds the value to some track, album, set you may share. Many in our community just post the music, and that makes me almost not wanting to go through the #music tag anymore when curating.

I would definitely do more if this, thank you @qsounds

Congratulations @soorefunmi, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3013 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $792.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations @soorefunmi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99