Sound Legion Steemit Artist Showcase - Sami D Barid @samidbarid

in #music6 years ago

Sound Legion would like to showcase a talented artist here on steemit some of you may not be familiar with.   Sami D. Barid @samidbarid 

I had the pleasure of discovering Sami D. Barid while doing my judging rounds for Steemit OpenMic.   I started listening to his back work on Youtube and found myself in an absolutely blissful place.   Sami speaks to the soul with his music, he really pulls an emotion out of those keys and it feels like he is speaking right to you, about life, and love and loss and pain and joy and everything else all in one.   He is a charming and shy artist with a quiet energy and a loud talent.   Listening to his music is like watching a brilliant movie that is just about moving you to tears.   I see scenes in my head when he plays.   Sami also plays guitar and other instruments and can sing very beautifully.  There is gentle and joyous color in Sami's sound work.  Some of my favorite performances I am gonna list below.  

 

Sami D. Barid - Existence (Original)

 

Sami D. Barid - I want to return home (Original piano song)

 

 

Hello my friend - by Sami D. Barid and Geco


I myself had the honor of getting to work with Sami on an original piece.   After seeing quite a few of his phenomenal performances on openmic I reached out to see if he had any original instrumentals I could work off of.   He sent of a couple samples.    One Sample called "Remember old places" stuck out very much to me.   It was only about min and half long so I wrote a lyric and recorded a first verse and chorus and sent it over to Sami.   He was quick to complete the track out from his end so I could finish is out with a second verse and ending.   He was fast and it took very little direction on my part to get exactly what was needed.   You can listen to that original track below. 

You can also check out the live performance of the song with myself and Sami for OpenMic Week 92 below

Sound Legion Artist Showcase Questions

*Get to know @samidbarid

Sami D. Barid

 1. Where are you from?

I'm from Berlin. I was born and raised here.

2. How long have you been doing music?

I  started playing the piano when I was about 5 years old. I didn't really  take it seriously for the first few years and never practiced at home.  Just 45 minutes a week. But what I started at the age of 12 was to buy  Logic and try to create my own music.  I was attracted to hip hop back then.  At some point I studied composition and there was a turning point.  I practiced piano every day and learned new instruments and composed  wherever I could.  My phone was full of ideas I had on the road, about  1600 voice recordings.  So it's about 21 years in which I make music and about 5 to 6 years in which I take it more seriously and want  to be successful with it.

3. What inspires you to make music?

As a  little boy I always listened to classical music (as I do today). I was  so fascinated by these sounds, these harmonies, these modulations and  everything you could hear from the old masters.  I was and still am very  humble towards the composers of that time.  My uncle used to play the piano in my grandmother's house, which we always visited in the  Black Forest (Southern Germany). From that point on it was clear to me  that all I wanted was to create such beautiful sounds one day.I also watched a lot of movies and Japanese Anime and series with my brother in my life since I was a child.  I  can also say with conviction that I am very inspired by Japanese anime  and its music. The Japanese have an incomprehensible and unbelievable  feeling for emotions!Over time I realized that  classical music also plays an important role in today's film industry.  You can use them wonderfully, combine them with synthesizers and much  more to make it sound modern. Sometimes I even found pieces that are 200  years old and were used in the same way.Me and my brother watched some movies and Animes again because of the music (you couldn't download everything yet).In  the course of time I developed a great love for scores (music for  movies) and that is exactly my dream.  I want to write music for movies.  So  you could say classical music in childhood, the movies I watched in my  life and my uncle who always played piano in the next room are the  things that inspired me to make music.

4.What is a favorite song you have done?

I  don't have a favourite song because I don't think there is such a thing  or at least only for a certain time. In different pieces I get  different feelings and it's hard for me to tell which one I like best.  Each piece has something interesting of its own.


5.What instruments do you play?

I play piano, guitar, percussion and some saxophone.

6. Do you have any album or single track releases online? 

*What are your social media site links. Soundcloud YouTube Musicoin Twitter Official Website? 

So far you can listen to my music on YouTube, on www.steemit.com and on my homepage www.sami-d-barid.com

7. Who are your top 3 favorite musical artists of all time?

Again such a difficult question, which I actually can not answer ^^But I'm gonna try it out of my gut. John Williams Yasuharu Takanashi chopin Of course there are about 1000 other music artists I could name.

8. Do you travel for music or do live shows?

*Would you travel to collaborate with another artist?

Yes.  I have given many concerts with different bands together.  In 2016 I had  a gig with a rock band called "Puls" in which I played for a few years  on German television, after which we went on tour. A few years earlier I  played in a jazz hip hop band as a keyboarder. I also went on tour for  the jewelry company Cartier with a talented singer and friend Avelina  Boateng.  When I have time for it of course i would Travel to collaborate with another artist

9. How would you describe your music in general?

Still in the development phase. A  music inspired by many different deceased or living artists with  several instruments, which hopefully will one day be something for every  ear :D Of course I say that I love classical music very much but I  don't exclude anything else. I am open to produce any music and to try  everything. So far I would describe my music as something where the  listener (hopefully) has pictures in his head.Much consists simply of piano melodies and some is arranged with whole orchestra. 

Find Sami D. Barid on 

Steemit Youtube Official Website


A recent Original Piece from Sami D. Barid 

Attached with an original poem


 I'm sitting on a bench, I'm kind of bored, kind of not.  

I am very satisfied and that bothers me a lot.   

My tea's getting cold, I don't want to drink it, I don't even know why I made it.  

If you want it, take it. I don't care about that.  

Am I happy or not? What a funny question. 

Let me think. I'll be happy as long as I have my drink. 

Or maybe not, I don't even want to drink. 

I'm gonna sink.  

I'm not unhappy at all, but I'm not happy either. 

I am a zero, an optimal state.  

I've found the middle, everything else is a fake. 

No more big ups and downs, I myself is what I found...  

So I'm gonna sit on my bench and be the middle of everything.   

Copyright: Sami D. Barid 


I am honored to get to showcase, support and work with such talented individuals as Sami D. Barid.  It's inspiration and connection and collaborations like these that really make this world a truly wonderful place worth preserving.   The human soul speaks through art, visual and audio and beyond.   Thank you Sami for sharing a piece of your soul with us and finding us in a place of relatability to the human condition.  ;)   You are truly a gift.  

Shavon Bonnie Legion 

@soundlegion

Support this post all SBD rewards from this post go to @samidbarid


Sort:  

Fantastic music! I really love all his work at you been playing it so much

Excuse my language, however, Sami is the "shit!" So awesome of you, Bonnie, to showcase him in the way that you have. He is well-deserving of such recognition - and I trust that everyone who listens to his music will come to a similar conclusion.
Sami ROCKS in more ways than one!

Passion you are so spot on my friend!!! your free to curse anytime on my page! it drives the passion of the statement lol

This line. "I've found the middle, everything else is a fake. "

I absolutely adored your duet, still not over the beauty of it. Samid is supertalented multilayered way

blessing to you @yidneth you are such a great spirit thanks for the support and encouragement

I can't tell you how grateful I am for that. thanks soundlegion for your beautiful words they have touched me very much. thank you all for your comments, i am so happy that we got to know each other even if it is only over the internet. It is the biggest compliment for me to read that my music is like a communication. Only a pure soul can receive and understand such a thing. I'm endlessly grateful.

Its a pleasure completely for me to get to highlight incredible talents such as yours. much love to you

hat's right! @samidbarid. is an excellent artist. I have heard it and it is worth admiring. Thank you @soundlegion for sharing a little more of it. Greetings from Venezuela.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17