Desert Island Disc Music Challenge: Choose FIVE albums for your ONE year Stay

in #music6 years ago

Image Source: Pixabay

@slobberchops has come up with another fun music challenge. I thought I'd have a bash...I'd love to see your choices.

 So the rules are:  

  1. Name FIVE albums you would take if you were stranded on a desert  island for ONE year with just a CD player, USB devices capable of  playing tunes or a good old fashioned record player.
  2. For each of the albums, link a tune from YouTube or an alternate source which to you is the standout song.
  3. Provide a short story on why you like this album or the artist so much.
  4. Use the tag  #desertislandchallenge on your post
  5. Nominate THREE more people for the challenge, try and pick music people!

I won't single anyone out to have a go but invite all my followers to have a go....it's fun to remember the good times.

So here's my 5 in no particular order

The Seldom Seen Kid - Elbow (2008)

This album came along at a time when I was almost giving up on hearing anything original. Their use of interesting objects such as a ruler scraped on a radiator was noticable. The song I've chosen may not be the most popular one from the album, but it reminds me of a beautiful night, walking hand in hand with Kelly across a starry London. The song is called 'Mirrorball' and is taken from the Abbey Road orchestral recording filmed by the BBC.

Celebration Day - Led Zeppelin (2012)

Millions applied for the tickets (me included) but only a lucky few got to see the reunion in 2007 of Led Zeppelin after over 20 years. The song I've chosen from the album is 'No quarter'. Here we see the 3 remaining members, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones joined on the drums by no other than the son of John Bonham, Jason Bonham. This concert blew me away when I first saw the DVD. I can't imagine how good it must have been to be there.....it seems that the passing of time has done nothing to dampen their talents.

The Wall - Pink Floyd (1979)

What can I say about this album....just pure genius. Pink Floyd with Roger Waters was just something else. I like their music after he left....but it did lose something. I can definitely see myself forgetting my cares on the island singing along to this rock opera. I've chosen the song 'Hey You', don't know why...it could've been any of them.

Lost Songs - David Gray (2001)

This is Kelly's favourite album and one I've become acquainted with over the years. I'd sure miss her spending a year on an island and this would be the perfect tonic for those miss you moments. I've chosen her favourite song from the album 'If Your Love Is Real'.

The Very Best Of The Stone Roses (2002)

This album has probably given us more fun times than any other. I'm pretty sure some cheering up would be required so this album makes the list. I've gone for the song 'Sally Cinnamon', again it could've been any.

So what d'ya reckon friends? Good choices? Terrible choices? Let me know and maybe have a bash yourself.

Have a lovely day

STEEMONKEY




Sort:  

I have tried to listen to Elbow, but they have not clicked with me so far. The song you chose however, I am familiar with and I do like. It has something that one.

Hey You and all of 'The Wall' is just outstanding stuff. Pink Floyd would have been my sixth pick for sure. Early Porcupine Tree owe a lot to them, and Steven Wilson is a confessed massive fan.

I find Elbow's other albums more difficult but this one just hit all my buttons. It got the Mercury award too. It's one of those rare ones where I like every song on the album. Floyd...nuff said. Porcupine Tree is new to me and I thank you for that. I'll be sure to climb said tree and check the view :)

Cheers pal, safe travels :)

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Much obliged :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Their use of interesting objects such as a ruler scraped on a radiator was noticable.
It should be noticeable instead of noticable.

Hehe...cheers...I don't know what we'd all do without you ;)

Congratulations @steemonkey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75