That guy who plays bass in a Big Band: Part 9, Rehearsal 10 Grey skies on April 29th and silly bathroom images.

in #music5 years ago

I almost skipped rehearsal again. Thankfully, I have a good support system.

img_3910

Traffic and Parking:


Traffic started out bad and became lighter as I got closer to the college. Here's a shot of a congested start:

More parking spaces were available today. Maybe the semester is over for some students that choose to withdrawal. The image below is the one I'm not supposed to be taking any more.

Next, is the image that is supposed to replace the one above. My goal in the image below is to capture palm trees in the window's reflection.

My windshield is extra dirty because someone smashed a Breakfast Jack on it while parked. I don't like fast food that much and I hate it smashed in my windshield. I think they threw it at my car while they were walking by. It's probably just a random toss from one of the school kids walking by.

Second Parking Ticket Update:


Fuck them. I shouldn't have said what I said on that appeal form, but I already felt like they wouldn't care. Eventually, sergeant dick called me. He mentioned the evidence he had. They had me on camera. I mentioned all the stupid things like the small yellow curb and dirty red curb. He didn't care. I said I have a bad back and he said I should have a handicap pass. It's his job to deter me. I allowed myself to be convinced because of the angry way I behaved upon finding the ticket. I talked a lot of shit to the students that perpetuated this student on student crime (issuing the ticket). They think they are coming from service. They steal music.

Big Band Broadcasts:


There are three this time. I cut some of the other bass players songs because I wanted to use these broadcasts to hear myself without scrolling. She seemed a little apprehensive about being recorded at first, but she'll see it's for the

Skip the chatter in the beginning of this first broadcast and jump to the music here at 02:06. I move the camera around to be entertaining. It's also a spot where I interact with an old friend from Buskerapp. Thank for stopping by Miguel!

This first broadcast's title might have been inspired by a percussionist who thinks we don't care when he participates intermittently. (This guy has missed a lot of rehearsals and usually seems more focused on him Instagram.) Or, it might be inspired by one of the guitarists. One dude thought it was cool to cary a guitar amp across half of the rhythm section after he arrived late. Sometimes the big band director will ask an unprepared musician to skip the concert performance. Sometimes these unprepared guys sound shitty and too loud at the concert. It reflects upon the band. It's better to remove them.

Musician Tip:

  1. Be early to set up your gear and equipment without causing a disruption.
  2. Attend as many rehearsals as possible. Communicate your absences.
  3. If you think you're going miss rehearsals, do your homework and record everything.
That's a short broadcast because I want to save my battery for the songs that I'm playing. It's hard for me to sit still also. I should be playing Percusion, but I thought it would be best to save my hand dexterity for bass.

Skip the chatter in the beginning of this next broadcast by clicking here at 01:37. Our drummer sings On A Clear Day, that song with mixed time signatures that I mentioned in the previous big band post.

Don't click the image above. Just skip to the next song at 08:50.

The third broadcast also starts off with a lot of talking. Skip to the song Caravan at 01:43.

At 18:45 we start rehearsing "Sir Duke." Click here on 18:48 to hear our version of this Stevie Wonder song.



Click on this link if you want to see all the other stuff available on my Periscope profile: https://www.pscp.tv/Tetrahedroseph/follow

I wish I didn't need to use Periscope, but what else is there for mobile live streaming with Steem?

f9f34b23-4204-4db8-b032-04c81d02730d

What is Big Band: In the form of a poem?!


Big band is lots of music. Swung fast and for amusement.

The songs are musical journeys and old time memories.

Big band can help people become confused and it can help lovers dance to the blues.

Big band is chords in an arrangement. Straight and simple with kicks for amazement.

The multi-cultured song lists create rememberable melodies.

Big band helps players stay sharp, so just say goodbye to your wallet before you start.

@steemseph


Bass Amps:


We are sharing the school's bass amp for this rehearsal.

No, I'm not dancing in the image above, I'm making adjustments to the amp's gain control. If I practice finding that sweet spot, I'll feel prepared in the future. The band is practicing most of the songs I'm performing in at this point in our rehearsal broadcast.
Eventually, I figure out how to help the other bass player avoid some feedback issues. See the acoustic bass behind me, left side of the image below.
Where would you put a sock if you wanted to prevent vibration on that acoustic bass?

"Random Art" was here.


Click the image below to see where it went.

Screen Shot 2019-06-01 at 12.26.21 PM.png

This "Random Art" section has moved. It was becoming a tangent. To see more about the art used in this post, look at my previous blog post, here: [Maximizing My Big Band Experience: DIY art in the next big band post.](https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@steemseph/ntopaz--steemseph--671268189--ntopaz-music-bigband-jazz--2019-05-31-14-11-23--artwork--none)
Click the link above to possibly learn how or why we have the "Wash Your Big Band" sign and the "No Big Band Parking Urinal" in this post.


4876afe7-c615-47de-884a-f9d1b7a5a5c7

img_3908

Pay To Play:

The total from the previous rehearsal's expenses was $238.30. Add in the usually $6 for the estimated cost of gas and parking for a new total of $244.30. That is still cheap for a music education. That is not much money for a bass player gym... 😐😑😬, right?
I'm beginning to accept these expenses. I might have spent just as much in previous semesters. In the past I was turbo-boosting with coffee and donuts before rehearsals, and then delicious Phở dinner's afterwards. Where does it all go? These day's of this semester, it all goes to... well, parking tickets, bills, gas and sometimes a specialty coffee way before. (Not too much coffee though.) Anyway, I will look forward to a more generous budget in the future. Next semester's budget will be almost $300. Isn't that the way it works in government agencies? Match the budget expenditures to the budget's allowances to prevent a reduction next quarter, right!?!
It's healthy to track your expenditure if you don't have a perspective.

🔜 My next post in this series will be titled something like, "Monday night Big Band May 6th 2019, Part 10, Rehearsal 11." This next will have more musician tips, and some photography traditions. This next post will have more broadcast highlights yet more simplified this time. What? These the tangent? It will even feature a short tangent about a cool Steem contest and some dried up limes.

1519600002594

🆕 This list of previous posts now includes the payout amount for each post in this big band series. This information was attainable thanks to https://steemworld.org. I'm adding it to encourage user to SwitchToSteem.

List of earnings on my previous big band posts:


1. "2019 Big Band Series Warning from Steemseph" https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon or https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon earned $0.881

2. "Big Band Rehearsals 1 and 2 February 2019 Part 1" https://steemit.com/steempeak/@steemseph/big-band-rehearsals-1-and-2-february-2019-part-1 earned $12.041

3. "That guy who plays Monday night Big Band bass. Part 2 Rehearsal 3 scrambled and ticketed" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-monday-night-big-band-bass-part-2-rehearsal-3-scrambled-and-ticketed earned $2.022

4. "That guy who plays Big Band bass gives an update. Part 3: Rehearsal 4 is neat and parking tickets suck." https://steempeak.com/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-big-band-bass-gives-an-update-part-3-rehearsal-4-is-neat-and-parking-tickets-suck earned $1.477

5. "Big band Part 4: Rehearsal 5 Fancy Gear goes boink and a percussion lesson." https://steemit.com/steempeak/@steemseph/big-band-part-4-rehearsal-5-fancy-gear-goes-boink-and-a-percussion-lesson earned $1.663

6. "That bass guitar guy who plays bass in a Big Band Part 5: It's rehearsal 6. Do We Sound Better?" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-bass-guitar-guy-who-plays-bass-in-a-big-band-part-5-it-s-rehearsal-6-do-we-sound-better earned $0.774

7. "Big Band Part 6, Rehearsal 7 for a concert that will cost me $126.30!?!" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/big-music-is-big-band-part-6-rehearsal-7-for-a-concert-that-will-cost-me-usd126-30 earned $13.437

8. "Big Parking Ticket Big Band, Part 7 April 2nd, 1st Concert: I get a $100 parking ticket loading equipment for the schools event." https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/big-parking-ticket-big-band-part-7-april-2nd-1st-concert-i-get-a-usd100-parking-ticket-loading-equipment-for-the-schools-event earned $2.751

9. "Really Short Big Band Music Video I made back in 2017" https://busy.org/@steemseph/caka3934 https://d.tube/v/steemseph/caka3934 earned $1.091

10. "Big Band Series Part 8, rehearsal 9 because I skipped rehearsal 8 to do income taxes on April 15th. https://busy.org/@steemseph/big-band-series-part-8-rehearsal-9-because-i-skipped-rehearsal-8-to-do-income-taxes-on-april-15th earned $2.766

11. "Maximizing My Big Band Experience: DIY art used in the next big band post." https://steempeak.com/ntopaz/@steemseph/ntopaz--steemseph--671268189--ntopaz-music-bigband-jazz--2019-05-31-14-11-23--artwork--none earned (active)

12. "That guy who plays bass in a Big Band Part 9, Rehearsal 10: Grey skies on April 29th and silly bathroom images." (active)

Series's payout total $38.903


🐙 THANK YOU for reading, leaving a comment, and upvoting my posts! 🐢



This post has been created with Busy.org and I'm sharing 10% with them. This post may also appear on Wordpress, but rest assured, my links come back to us here at Steem!

This post is my entry into the @socalsteemit's contest called , "Show Us Your California Contest." Contestants can win SBI!



photo jun 04, 7 18 04 pm


has music on BandCamp here: https://tetrahedroseph.bandcamp.com/music


steemseph bathroom wall 2


Sort:  

I think adenijiadeshina was referring to this. It has the color of food but it does not look like food :P

image4144.png

Ohhh, yes, that. @mathowl, that has been a reoccurring question. I plan to answer it in my next big band post, part 10.
OR take a look at this answer: https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/steemseph-re-fraenk-ps7d3r-20190528t153553324z

🍋🍈

Hey @adenijiadeshina ! Is this what you were talking about? (See the link above.)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @steemseph! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

Cool, thanks for featuring my post.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What is that in the car that looks brown?

The brown thing on the windshield? It’s a piece of somebody’s breakfast sandwich.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02