Gomez, Bring it on album, live at the Royal Albert Hall

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Recently I spent an evening reliving the 90s, my youth and a bit of Indie-Brit Pop while watching Gomez perform their Mercury Prize winning album ‘Bring it on’ live at the Albert Hall.

Gomez.jpg

It was a really good evening at a venue that I’ve never been to before and probably never thought I would, at least not to watch a band I liked. I guess it’s a sign of my impending middle age that the bands that I used to listen to when I was a teenager are now bringing out 20th anniversary tours and playing gigs at venues more renowned for opera. Indeed, I believe the last time I saw Gomez live was in field surrounded by overflowing portaloos at the Reading Festival in 2000.

Time and toilet facilities (thankfully) have moved on but this album in my opinion remains a classic. I think even for the most talented music critic it would be difficult to find the right words to describe the music, as it is a real hodgepodge of styles and influences. It’s clear that all of the band has (or at least was) contributing to the song writing and in general the individual members tend to mix and match the instruments they play, slipping from traditional acoustic sounds to modern electronics sometimes within the space of a single track. Add to that the fact that they have 3 vocalists, all with their own distinctive voice and you can imagine that however you may choose to define their sound it is certainly unique.

If you’ve not listened to Gomez then I’d highly recommend you check them out, below are the links to their ‘Bring it on’ and ‘Liquid skin’ albums which are the best examples of their work. If like me you fancy a trip down memory lane (while you still have the ability to remember) then I’d say it’s definitely time to give this great band another listen to

Video playlists created by this youtuber

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67