Music - Hopes and Dreams

in #music6 years ago

I was walking my dog this morning and just idly thinking about life and how fast it passes us by without us actually living in the moment. I thought of peoples hopes and dreams and found myself with an earworm... of a song of hopes and dreams never realised...... or even worse, shattered!

I used to love this song until I read ALL the lyrics and now I can hardly bear to listen to it. Start it up and read the lyrics and picture where she comes from and how she desperately tries to escape her fate... and takes her fate with her

You've got a fast car
I want a ticket to anywhere
Maybe we can make a deal
Maybe together we can get somewhere
Anyplace is better
Starting from zero got nothing to lose
Maybe we'll make something
Me myself I've got nothing to prove

You've got a fast car
I've got a plan to get us outta here
I've been working at the convenience store
Managed to save just a little bit of money
We won't have to drive too far
Just across the border and into the city
You and I can both get jobs
Finally see what it means to be living

See my old man's got a problem
He lives with a bottle that's the way it is
Says his body's too old for working
His body's too young to look like his
My momma went off and left him
She wanted more from life than he could give
Said somebody's gotta take care of him
So I quit school and that's what I did

You've got a fast car
Is it fast enough so we can fly away?
We've gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

So I remember when we were driving
Driving in your car
Speed so fast felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arms felt nice wrapped around my shoulders and
I-I had a feeling that I belonged
And I-I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car
We go cruising to entertain ourselves
You still ain't got a job
I work in a market as a checkout girl
I know things will get better
You'll find work and I'll get promoted
We'll move out of the shelter
Buy a bigger house and live in the suburbs

You've got a fast car
I've got a job that pays all our bills
You stay out drinking late at the bars
See more your friends than you do your kids
I always hoped for better
That maybe together you and me would find it
I got no plans I ain't going nowhere
So take your fast car and keep on driving

You've got a fast car
Is it fast enough so you can fly away?
You've gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

Along the same lines a less depressing song about hopes and dreams . This one I reckon 70 80% of Steemians were not yet born when it became a cult song, the guitar riff torturing guitarists for decades. Dan and Ned were but a twinkle in their parents eyes when this was a hit .... yet I doubt there is an adult who has not heard this track in some form in their lives!!

There's a lady who's sure all that glitters is gold
And she's buying the stairway to heaven
When she gets there she knows, if the stores are all closed
With a word she can get what she came for
Ooh, ooh, and she's buying the stairway to heaven
There's a sign on the wall but she wants to be sure
Cause you know sometimes words have two meanings
In a tree by the brook, there's a songbird who sings
Sometimes all of our thoughts are misgiven

Ooh, it makes me wonder
Ooh, it makes me wonder

There's a feeling I get when I look to the west
And my spirit is crying for leaving
In my thoughts I have seen rings of smoke through the trees
And the voices of those who stand looking

Ooh, it makes me wonder
Ooh, really makes me wonder

It's whispered that soon if we all call the tune
Then the piper will lead us to reason
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long
And the forests will echo with laughter

If there's a bustle in your hedgerow, don't be alarmed now
It's just a spring clean for the May queen
Yes, there are two paths you can go by, but in the long run
There's still time to change the road you're on
And it makes me wonder
Your head is humming and it won't go, in case you don't know
The piper's calling you to join him
Dear lady, can you hear the wind blow, and did you know
Your stairway lies on the whispering wind

And as we wind on down the road
Our shadows taller than our soul
There walks a lady we all know
Who shines white light and wants to show
How everything still turns to gold
And if you listen very hard
The tune will come to you at last
When all are one and one is all
To be a rock and not to roll

Lyrics Credit

Nuff said ..... Namaste!!

Sort:  

LOOOOOOVE Traci Chapman!!! And fast car and Talkin' about a revolution have always been my favourites! Her music is so soulful!!! My mom used to have that LP so I learnt to love her music from quite a young age :)

I quite like the new version of this song, but somehow the video seems completely disconnected from the lyrics... although good sound though!

Have a fab weekend!!!

Mm, bit boingy for me. I think I'll stick with Traci. Though good to check out other interpretations. And I see what you mean about the disconnect.

Nah, to me ...sounds like a cover... and I just hate covers.
You too have a fab cool, damp weekend !!

Nah, to me ...sounds like a cover... and I just hate covers.
You too have a fab cool, damp weekend !!

@themagus hahaha thanks, we did! (And yes, I also prefer the original... in most instances in fact) More of an "old music" lover me is... 😎

The human condition - can we ever really leave ourselves behind? I still loved the song, even with an awareness of the lyrics. You got me thinking of another song about trying to make a change in life, but it not being all it was hoped

Love the guitar!!Nice choice @kiwidebs .... reminds me a bit of Emmy Lou Harris.

very good music @themagus i really like your music

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

I actually like Fast Car even knowing all the lyrics (and I'll even sing along). I absolutely cannot listen to Stairway to Heaven though. It's not even the lyrics, they're beautiful and I even know most of them, it's something in the song itself.

Not sure if this one is hopey and dreamy and possibly shattery enough but it manages to give me a bump when I need it XP

goatsig

You explained the meaning of the song very well. I also became interested to hear it. Thanks for sharing @themagus. Good luck always for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85