Music - How some bands chose their names

in #music6 years ago

Recently a collegue of mine caught me singing a tune and asked me if I knew who originally had a hit with the song. I replied I did and provided the bands name... after which he gave me a bit of trivia about how the band chose their name. That got me thinking .... so I decided to share that one as well as two others


10 cc - I'm Not in Love

Apparently the average amount of sperm ejaculated at the local sperm donor centre was 9cc .... and they thought they were better than average .... hence the name 10cc



Cheap Trick - I Want You to Want Me

Simple explanation for this name ... and no they are not discounted gigolo's .... they claim they asked an ouija board for a band name ....


Grateful Dead - Friend of the Devil

Actually this was a new one for me and I shall rather quote from the website I found the information..

Refers to a series of Old English folk tales with the same basic theme. A traveler enters a village and finds the villagers desecrating, or refusing to bury the body of a dead man because he died owing creditors money. The traveler pays the dead man's debts and sees to a decent burial. Later in his travels, the man is saved by a mysterious event, which is credited to the dead man's grateful spirit. Hence, the Grateful Dead.

Full Article

Neat !! We all know UB40 was referring to the Unemployment Benefit form which needed to be filled in to claim dole. The legend goes the band members met while standing in the queue. So my final one for this post will be that delightful foot tapping, rather insignificant melody by Mungo Jerry ...


Mungo Jerry - In the Summertime

The band could not agree on a name so Producer, Barry Murray pulled a name out of a hat ... and this was Mungo Jerrie which comes from T.S. Elliots Old Possums Book of Practical Cats

I hope you enjoyed the trivia and the rather light hearted music.

()




Sort:  

Hey, @themagus Really great work my dear friend and I am glad to seen your daily post .many many thanks for sharing with us your interesting post.

i enjoy your music @themagus and you can spend time to sing the innocent songs that entertain the people all.

amazing music post, I love, thank you for your kind, good day happy, I hope you can help me forever, because I need help like yourself dear, because you are very good.
I will upvote and restem

Thank you for your continued support, I appreciate it.

thank you, I am very happy, I just hope you can help me forever dear, so that all my dreams can come true, if you can help me, all what you want from me i will do dear

My pleasure ...

if I can be worthy of being able to help you, I am sorry if I beg for you, tapih I need an upvote that can help all my dreams dear, hope you can give me an upvote goodness for me forever.

really amazing friend, may i follow you

song is my favorite friend. I really like music .. I wish there was free time give me some support for me

Thank you for sharing your very beautiful music. I really enjoyed it. Hope to always be able to share interesting things like this. Good luck always for you @themagus.

You are welcome my friend 😊😊. My friend, may I recommend someone to get support from you. I think he is a great writer. Always give good and peaceful enlightenment in writing. If you agree I will send you his account name. I am waiting for your answer. Sorry if I am wrong.

Send me his name and I will check out his posts.... If I think they are worth supporting I shall do so. No promises though.

Thank you very much for the response of my good friend. I am very happy to be able to help people who have high spirits in Steemit. I only recommend the owner of the account @munawar87. Hope can make you happy wherever located.

Yes, I thoroughly enjoyed both the music and the trivia. I had toyed with the idea of using In The Summertime when I did my summer mix for my class, but then wasn't sure the sentiment would be quite them.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88