Music with a RAIN theme

in #music6 years ago

I got horribly dumped on by a rain squall this morning whilst walking my dog, trudging home wet and cold but NOT miserable as I love the rain on my face a tune went around and around my head .... so here it starts the rain theme... but in a slightly indirect manner.

Enjoy!


Tom Waits - Small Change

Small Change got rained on with his own .38
And nobody flinched down by the arcade
And the marquees weren't weeping
They went stark-raving mad
And the cabbies were the only ones
That really had it made
And his cold trousers were twisted and the sirens high and shrill
And crumpled in his fist was a five-dollar bill
And the naked mannequins with their cheshire grins
And the raconteurs and roustabouts said "Buddy, come on in"
'Cause, 'cause the dreams ain't broken down here now
They're walking with a limp
Now that Small Change got rained on with his own .38
Lyrics

Fantastic number

As I post this the sound of rain on the roof is as sweet as any music one can imagine .... love it.

This tune is on my playlist in the car and played as I left home ..... definitely fortuitous timing.


Michael Franks - Walk in the Rain

I lived in a painting by Renoir
Dined late in those sidewalk cafes
But lately I seem to be more inclined
For a walk in the rain

You know I was crazy about you
Some sadness caused me to unwind
Maybe I will meet you (if fate is kind)
On a walk in the rain
Image Credit

Another famous tune from my youth was "I cant stand the Rain" ..... I had no idea how many people have covered this number. I incude one from a woman I have never heard of before but she does a decent rendition.


I Can't Stand the Rain - Ann Peebles

The lyrics ain't anything special...just another love song {grin} so I shall not provide them... but rather another tune which really takes me back in time. A fantastic talent with a fabulous voice...


Dont Rain on my Parade - Diana Ross

Aishhhhh, Diana on SPEED ..... I need to go lay down after listening to that !!!

Good night .....

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thank you .... much appreciated.

Hello @themagus, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you kindly for the recognition. I shall take some time to familiarise myself with your magazine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86