Update: My Current 'Job' Description, or What My Busy-ness Has Become Lately

in #music6 years ago

I can explain my recent short absence from here, but it means that I'll have to make a confession: I was not able to quit playing music as I'd planned, and the music habit has returned into my life.

IMG_4629.jpg

my desk now

My music problem is similar to the gambler's problem: I've spent this much time learning how to play a piano, and with so much already invested in music, it would make sense to try to recover that investment somehow.

IMG_4630.jpg

I've Recently Joined Another R&B Group

In the last few weeks I've been learning new songs. Old songs, really, but good songs. This is in preparation to back up the vocalist Ocie Fisher with some of the musicians I've worked with over the years. There's over 30 songs on this set list, from Stevie Wonder, Tina Turner to the Beatles to Etta James to Otis, I have a lot of work ahead, learning the chords on songs I've heard for years, but never imagined learning.

Some of these songs I've never heard before, I had to go on Utube and search for the origins of a few, but even the ones that I'd heard my whole life had to be heard again for those mystery chords and critical melody lines.

Such has been my busy-ness lately, but as soon as I get these songs learned, I'll be posting some videos to Dtube. I'll be right back.


photos here are mine, 2018 etc.

Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 12.33.06 PM.png

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

That's awesome!

It should be fun, once I learn the chords!

That's where I get stuck. I find the piano pretty well explained up to the point where you know all the chords and inversions and then I flail around hoping that what I do sounds okay. I figure you're quite a bit past that!

Inversions-- I've heard of those. Ok, I don't know all of the chords, and can barely read music, so I think you are way ahead of me there!

I think the big test is performing in public. You have me beat.

When at home, I practice for live audiences by using a metronome or steady click to play along with. It's good practice, while also it somehow simulates the anxieties of the stage, like 'the show must go on' with it's relentless presence and call for perfection. My worst critic (me) is always there for rehearsals, especially when the metronome is on, and I get better at appeasing that critic!

As a child, I didn't have a metronome. Returning to piano lessons 2-1/2 years ago, you can bet I'm using it now!

When I was learning to play, I had a little Casio keyboard with the little keys, which had built in drum beats that I played along with. It forced me to practice longer, as when I wanted a break, it kept going, "one more time!"

Music is not a habit it's energy. Have fun channelling :D

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a good way to look at it, the piano and I will guide the energy into the world.

Hi friend,how r u?Best wishes for your efforts to rebuild your job.

thanks! It's not a bad job.

I was wondering what was going on. I will watch those videos you promised

Yeah I've got to practice, it's the Bikes Blues Barbecue event here at the end of the month that I'll be playing at for 2 nights.

Always nice to see updates from you :) wish you all the best in everything you try to do ahead :D

Thank you! I haven't gone far away.

This is the most legit excuse to go on a hiatus, brother! I'm happy that you've rekindled your love affair with music!

My hiatus is nearing the end, I'm getting close to learning all of these new songs, then I can start writing about other things again.

I understand completely both my parents worked as music teachers and I am also a musician. Learn some new material play some songs and grow from it. Thanks for sharing

With both parents being music teachers, you would nearly have to be a musician too! Your profile image is a giveaway too, I have a feeling you know how to play that piano.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78