Stems, Sounds, and Samples

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Our spirit establishes physical outlets to express our creativity; I believe it has to. Just as our flesh has needs, our spirit does so in equal measure.

fa9c34d982648ea02318a561f6e0b25fresNet11_na.jpg

When I got my first drum machine I remember finally figuring it out and crafting some desirable patterns. Either I had achieved some unconscious goal of transmuting emotion into my production- or I just naturally aligned with the emotion within the sound emitted by the machine. Either it produces emotion that changes my feelings- OR I am successfully expressing my feelings via sound.. Either way it is a fulfilling experience to have made something that you feel has that type of mood-altering substance.

Fast-forward a few years and I invest in a sampler/sequencer of sorts. For years I was experimenting with countless synths and machines that I cannot artfully play in a live setting. The sequencer and sampler gives me a sense of security in that I can carefully pre-meditate and endlessly re-sample to manipulate any sound.

I took a strange approach to all of this having no real musical skills- nor any bearings of music theory.. I just wing it. I wanted so badly to design my own sounds and play them myself in an original pattern. I realized quickly how bad I really am at playing instruments or even programming synths. Sound design I can handle- the sound may sound extraordinary in a single note or chord but trying to play them in any progression is where my ideas outreach my ability.

So, back to the turntable. Having started with a mixer and 2 channels maybe I should go back and chop it up that way.. I must be a hip-hop producer- I will just sample some records.. It took me awhile to realize that any sound- .wav .mp3 or otherwise- if it can be recorded I can use it on a drum pad.. manipulate, double, distort, decimate, detune.. sometimes it is not even in pursuit of a listenable creation anymore but becomes a meditative process of exploring the available variables of the spectrum.

Enough rambling-

I have been participating in Remix Competitions on MetaPop.com for a few years now- I have not won any yet- I am an amateur, through and through. BUT- I have had a lot of fun with the opportunities they present.

My favorite type of competition is those not of Songs but from Sound Packs.
They give you a selection of a couple Melody or Bass riffs, drums, sometimes some FX parts. They usually want a track using at least one of the samples- extra kudos if you use only the provided samples.. In this case they just wanted a 16-bar beat as a submission. I made two different submissions using the same sounds. I find it interesting how different each of the submissions are using a limited sonic spectrum. I made two within the same project and they are wildly different. If you check out the other submissions by competitors you will see even more variation.

For many of my entries in these contests I would post the track on Soundcloud.com as well. I did not realize that this was not allowed and likely disqualified me from any rewards. HA!

Anyway, I will post a link to the Competition on MetaPop. You should try your own attempt- or at least give my two tries a listen - Hang Loose and Shocka by Mr. Ruggles.

Simple 16 beat loops made from 4 bar sequences.

By the way- If amateur production intrigues you- I have a weekly project I am going to start to talk about these cheeky productions in more depth. Intro to "Music Struggles with Mr. Ruggles" coming soon! Look for it!

Peace and Blessings!

Listen to my remix submissions here:

https://metapop.com/theruggle/remixes/hangloose-remix/33811

https://metapop.com/theruggle/remixes/shocka-remix/34350

Here is a link to the competition so you can check out other submissions or even take a swing at it yourself:
https://metapop.com/pages/promos/native-sessions-bars?p=1!

Sort:  

Nice to have you back. And very well written, by the way.

Whatever you did to your photo is really cool. I dig the painted look.

ay! its an app(mobile) called 'Prisma' - check it out, easy to use with a bunch of wild visual filters.
PS-just discovered the 'Replies' section. HELPFUL.
Peace and Blessings!

Nice! When we get better with our camara I’ll have to check it out. Haha, and welcome to the conversation. We still find new stuff out about Steemit all of the time. ✌️ Blessings Always

Our spirit establishes physical outlets to express our creativity; I believe it has to. Just as our flesh has needs, our spirit does so in equal measure.

I believe something similar. I also think that it's important that everyone goes off in different directions even though we maintain a group.
Like brute-forcing a lock, if six billion humans have six billion random interests then eventually one of us might unlock a secret.

that is a neat analogy.
as if we hold the keys to another's 'random' lock.
challenging via vibration and symbol to provoke perfection.

PS-just discovered the 'Replies' section. HELPFUL.
Peace and Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82