The Classics Never Die - Bob Dylan

in #music6 years ago

I think the 50's and 60's must have been a great but also scary time to live through.
With the invention of the atom bomb came the threat of a nuclear apocalypse, which must have been a terrifying concept to wrap your head around.
Now days we know the threat of nuclear armageddon is highly unlikely through things like MAD or Mutually Assured Destruction, but in the 50's and 60's people weren't aware of concepts like this.
It must have been a frightening outcome to grasp which I'm quite sure really spurred on the anti war movements even further.

Out of that fear of total obliteration came some really great music, and also some great books and movies which carry through right to this day. Some of my most favorite movies and games are the post apocalyptic ones, like the Fallout video games series which is amazing or movies like The Road which I thought was a really good movie.
It's amazing how much good has come out of such a frightening concept.
I think this is one of the reasons why I love older music so much, is that it remind me of the threat of nuclear apocalypse.
I often like to think about what it must have been like living back then.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ Bob Dylan ☠️

 
Bob Dylan is another one of my favorite artists, I love his music because it has that real country feel to it and is often slow and has powerful lyrics.
Bob Dylan is an American singer and songwriter and you would have surely heard of him. His musical career spans over 5 decades and he still goes on tours and performs live.
Some of Bob Dylan's songs were very influential during the civil rights movement of the early 60's and also the anti war movements which followed. One of those songs "The Times they are a Changing" I think is one of the best songs ever recorded, an absolute classic.

It's not going to be easy to pick a few favorites but will give it a go.

From Wikipedia:

In his recording career, Dylan has explored many of the traditions in American song—from folk, blues, and country to gospel, and rock and roll, and from rockabilly to English, Scottish, and Irish folk music, embracing even jazz and the Great American Songbook. Dylan performs on guitar, keyboards, and harmonica. Backed by a changing lineup of musicians, he has toured steadily since the late 1980s on what has been dubbed "the Never Ending Tour".



src


   

☠️ The Times They are a Changing ☠️

 
This one is quite easy to pick, I think it's a cracker and is one of my favorites.
Bob Dylan released this song back in 1965 and was written specifically to initiate change within society and it worked.
The song is slow paced and rather simple when you listen to it, but I think the most simple songs are often the best.
I love his use of the harmonica through the track.
The lyrics are quite powerful and so good to listen to, and the way he has sung this song sounds so good.
 


   

☠️ Blowing in the Wind ☠️

 
Here is another real classic from Bob Dylan.
It has that real country feel to it which I absolutely love.
Again this song is rather simple in the was it has been composed, yet he has pulled it off so well.
The lyrics are amazing and it's no wonder why this song became so popular.
I love listening to this song as it really changes your mood, and I always feel at peace when I listen to it.
 


   

☠️ Mr Tambourine Man ☠️

 
Here is another song of Bob Dylan's that I really like. I prefer his earlier songs which were more country/folk like but he also done some rippers with the electric guitar.
It's another rather simple track yet it sounds really good.
I like the lyrics to this track as they seem very cryptic and could really mean anything depending on how you interpret them.

Take me on a trip upon your magic swirling ship
My senses have been stripped
My hands can't feel to grip
My toes too numb to step

 


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Ronettes
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Rupert Holmes and Norman Greenbaum
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Kinks
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Animals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders David Essex and Barrett Strong
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Cat Stevens
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dire Straits
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

yeah...now you post the top!

Dylan was considered a god in the folk - rock world. The most poignant lyrics. Times They are a-Changing has always been my favorite song of his. The lyrics are still valid today.

A song of Paul Simon's captured Dylan's status amongst the elite of the folk-rock music world at that time.
"I knew a man, his brain was so small
He couldn't think of nothing at all
Not the same as you and me
He doesn't dig poetry
He's so unhip that when you say Dylan
He thinks you're talking about Dylan Thomas
Whoever he was
The man ain't got no culture."

I will have to listen to these again when I get the chance.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00