The Swinging 30's 40's and 50's - Nat King Cole

in #music6 years ago

I like to listen to classics from the 30's, 40's and 50s. One of the reasons I really love them is that they take you back to a time when people were doing it tough. In the 1930's you had the great depression which must have been a tough period to live through.
I think music must have been a great escape through the 30's. When I listen to that old music I often envisage what it must have been like, though you can never fully appreciate the magnitude of something like the great depression unless you have experienced it first hand.

I love listening to these songs and just closing my eyes and letting my imagination run wild.
I also love listening to these classics when I'm feeling down, I find they are a good way to make me feel better. Listening to these track kind of has the same effect on me as when Christmas time is approaching, you start to hear the Christmas carols being played and it makes you happy.
Christmas time is my favorite time of year. I love the whole Christmas excitement which the kids get, it's a magical time of the year and that excitement seems to flow through to me.
I still love sitting around and watching Christmas movies, even the really korny ones. I know some people hate Christmas and I did for a few years after my accident, but to be fair I hated everything. Lol my friends used to call me the grinch.

Music from the 30's, 40's and 50's is too often forgotten. This series has been done to revive some of these classic songs so they can live on through other generations.
I have had some great feedback so far. Here is some cool feedback I got from @doctorcrypto

I love some old timey music. Whether it's 40's 50's or 60's It don't matter.
While listening to the Ink spot songs, I was thinking about back up singers from that era and how the whole back up singer thing has changed with the times.
I love hearing the old tunes.
Bitty Wop Wop Wop

Here is some cool feedback I got from @frogman18

I like 'Whispering Grass' best, but all the songs are great. There are a number of moody sounding groups from that era that were very popular on the radio. I also like the Andrews sisters who are a contrast to The Inkspots.



☠️ Nat King Cole ☠️

 
Nat king Cole is one of the greats from the 30's, 40's and 50's and I always enjoy listening to his music.
Nat King Cole was an American pianist and singer who has recorded a string of hits over the years. He has some really great jazzy tracks.
You would have surely at least heard about him somewhere.
Nat King Cole comes from Alabama in the United States and grew in in a family of three brothers who were all musicians too.
Some of his work has featured in movies and TV, he has also had music feature in the Fallout series on games.

From Wikipedia:

When he was fifteen, Cole dropped out of high school to pursue a music career. After his brother Eddie, a bassist, came home from touring with Noble Sissle, they formed a sextet and recorded two singles for Decca in 1936 as Eddie Cole's Swingsters. They performed in a revival of the musical Shuffle Along. Nat Cole went on tour with the musical. In 1937, he married Nadine Robinson, who was a member of the cast. After the show ended in Los Angeles, Cole and Nadine settled there while he looked for work. He led a big band, then found work playing piano in nightclubs.



src


   

☠️ April in Paris ☠️

 
I really love this track from Nat King Cole.
It's a real soft jazzy piece which really reminds me of the movie Taxi Driver for some reason, which is one of my favorite movies.
The way that he plays the piano has that real 30's and 40's feel to it.
I love songs like this I mean how can you possibly be mad when you listen to something like this.
 


   

☠️ Orange Coloured Sky ☠️

 
I really love this track from Nat King Cole, it's one of the absolute classics that he did.
This track way used in the Fallout series of games, which really suits it because the Fallout series is based on a post apocalyptic world.
This track is a rather jazzy piece which is one of the reasons why I love it so much. What an awesome harmony this song had.
The use of the instruments sounds amazing too, it really suits the lyrics of the song and goes together nicely. Love it how it starts of soft and then bam.
 


   

☠️ I Get a Kick Out of You ☠️

 
Here is another fantastic jazzy piece from Nat King Cole.
Just imagine being able to leave work after a tough day at the office, then making your way down a back alley and into a lonely looking bar. You walk in and this is what the live band is playing, you order a whiskey and light up your cigar. Heaven.
I don't know how anyone could not love something like this, what a way to wind down after a tough day :)
 

Sort:  

Let's hope someone still remembers the old styles..

Love it!

this is soul medicine <3... yep, just like the carols at Christmas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10