The Swinging 30's 40's and 50's - Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra

in #music6 years ago

One of the things I love most about listening to really old music from the 30's, 40's and 50's is how it can make you feel.
For some reason when ever I listen to it I always get a really strong urge to go and sit in a dimly lit bar which is as quite as a mouse bar except for the soft old music playing from the radio behind the bar. The kind of bar you might find down some back alley of a big city. Then light up my cigar and order a whiskey or two and just sit and ponder.
That to me would be a splendid evening. That's how it must have been if you were living back in the old days of the 30's, 40's and 50's.

When I was younger I used to be really loud and much more wild but not I have gotten older I would much rather go our and find a nice quite bar, have a few quiet drinks and be left alone.
It's funny how as you get older things change.
When I was young I loved going and seeing hip hop gigs, with many friends who were performers but now days my ideal evening out would be going to a quiet bar with some good jazz playing.

Music from the 30's, 40's and 50's is too often forgotten. This series has been done to revive some of these classic songs so they can live on through other generations.
I have had some great feedback so far. Here is some cool feedback I got from @doctorcrypto

I love some old timey music. Whether it's 40's 50's or 60's It don't matter.
While listening to the Ink spot songs, I was thinking about back up singers from that era and how the whole back up singer thing has changed with the times.
I love hearing the old tunes.
Bitty Wop Wop Wop

Here is some cool feedback I got from @frogman18

I like 'Whispering Grass' best, but all the songs are great. There are a number of moody sounding groups from that era that were very popular on the radio. I also like the Andrews sisters who are a contrast to The Inkspots.



src


   

☠️ Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra ☠️

 
Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra was one of the famous big bands to come out of the big bands era.
Tommy Dorsey was a trombonist and conductor/leader of his group.
He was a very talented trombonists who was renowned among other artists of that era.
his music has that remarkable sound that I always think of with the 30's and 40's. The music from that era usually has some kind of brass instrument being played.
From Wikipedia:

He was the younger brother of bandleader Jimmy Dorsey. After Dorsey broke with his brother in the mid-1930s, he led an extremely popular and highly successful band from the late 1930s into the 1950s



src



☠️ Music Maestro Please ☠️

 
This is one of the track that I really love.
It has a rather heavy use of brass instruments and has that iconic sound that only the big bands could product back then.
I love that slower pace.
Songs like this really make me wish that I could have lived in and experienced this era.
how good would it be to sit in a quite bar with the band playing in the corner.
 



☠️ I’ll Never Smile Again ☠️

 
I like this song which has that real slow pace.
This song has that real typical 30's sound which I really love. I don't know why but I always get nostalgic when I listen to songs like this. Maybe it was on one of those really old movies or there was something really similar but I just can't remember it.
It's amazing how good this sounds since it's such a simple song.
 



☠️ Song Of India ☠️

 
Here is another classic from Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra.
It has that great big band sound and is rather jazzy. I think it's a great track to bop along to.
Songs like this just make me want to find a quite bar, crank up a cigar and enjoy some whiskey.
 

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Swinging 30's 40's and 50's - Frank Sinatra
☣️ The Swinging 30's 40's and 50's - The Ink Spots
 

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Its a pity that the big bands that were in profusion in the 40's and 50's cant survive now economically. When I was a teenager we still had dance halls to go to and there were live bands then. Most of us learned to dance at school and you actually held your partner. When disco took over it was a sad end to the band era and dancing.

That's a good point, the price to pay for having a big band play is a bar would be far too expensive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87