Songs I Listen To While Writing

in #music6 years ago

pic6.jpg

I often listen to music while writing. Either that or watch nonsense YouTube videos as background noise (it has to be nonsense, because if it's a video I want to pay attention to, I'll forget to write). As I have mentioned before in previous posts, I've got an iTunes Library expanding over 2000 songs currently. So, it's fair to say I have LOTS of music to choose from. I've chosen a few songs here I'd like to talk about because I feel they need attention brought to them, or because they particularly help in my writing. Here we go!

Changes by Fabvl

Transitions - EP (Fabvl).jpg

Fabvl is an exceptional artist who is primarily on YouTube, although unfortunately the Transitions - EP (where the Changes song can be bought) is only on Spotify right now. Changes is an amazing song, it's very relaxed and chilled. A lot of Fabvl's songs are based around games, but most songs that aren’t based on an outer source (games etc.) tend to be about him, telling his stories. Changes is all about how music helped him through a dark time and has been a source of inspiration for him. Also, about how YouTube and his audience (dubbed the Fabvl Fam) helped him with their encouragement. For the entire 2:44 of the song, I bob my head to the chill beat and type at the same time. I can always listen to this song without skipping, it's just really nice to listen to regardless of the situation. Driving, writing or trying to sleep, this song helps!

Here is his upload of it to YouTube, I hope everyone enjoys it as well:

Tornado by Sebastiano Serafini

Tornado (Sebastiano Serafini).jpg

Now I seem to be really opiniated on this, but I absolutely love Tornado! Everyone I've shared it with just passes it off without a second thought, but please, listen to the uplifting beat and read the lyrics in the lyric video provided below. I find it rather inspiring! When I hear this song, one of two things happen: I get motivated to write and do so OR imagine myself making a music video to this song with a bunch of friends travelling around Japan. It's an odd and rather specific thought, I know, but that's the picture Sebastiano has painted in my head with his music! It's such a nice song that motivates me to press forward with what I want so I can see a brighter future.

Here is the lyric video Sebastiano uploaded:

Got Your Six by Five Finger Death Punch

Got Your Six (Five Finger Death Punch).jpg

Now this song isn't like Changes or Tornado, Got Your Six is a great heavy metal song I listen to for writing 'The Protector' because the main character in my story is a Demon. I like being able to relate songs to certain characters in my books, whenever the main character gets a bit darker, I like to have something heavier playing through my earphones. The most important lyrics I feel relate to the male main character of 'The Protector' are:
Won't go down, never gonna quit, don't turn back 'cause I got your six
Five Finger Death Punch brings a lot of heavy music to the table, like Jekyll and Hyde, Question Everything and Digging My Own Grave. If you’re a metal fan, I recommend them 100%.

Here is the official audio for Got Your Six:

Warrior (feat. John Cooper) by LEDGER

Ledger - EP (LEDGER).jpg

Similar to Got Your Six, I feel that Warrior perfectly relates to a character in my book, this time it’s the main female character. She's striving to be stronger while facing unimaginable challenges. I feel the lyrics represented in this song express that wells:
Fade away, like tears in rain, nothing's forever, lets rise up together and say. This is the sound, it's the sound of the warrior
Not just do I relate this song to my book, but Jen Ledger's debut EP contain many amazing tracks that everyone in the world can relate and jam to. It's definitely worth a listen to.

Here is the official audio for Warrior:

All images used are linked below. I own all albums so their covers are in my possession.

https://goo.gl/images/4WVzCs

Sort:  

Hello @trentjm27, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Interesting choice of writing music. I'm not so sure I could even think with that Five finger Death Punch song playing (although I do quite like their song, Far From Home).

I can't write to anything with lyrics, and I actually find that the sound of rain works best for me when it comes to writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23