INXS for Rock Classics #28

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Australian Rock (again)

Hi ya Steemians - to end a hot sunny weekend here comes edition No. 28 of Rock Classics with a band from Australia - we did talk about AC/DC already - here comes INXS who were popular during my school and university times. I need you Tonight was the first chart breaker I heard of them, the band played a significant role in new wave rock during the 1980ies and 90ies.

INXS was founded 1977 under the name "The Farriss Brothers" as cover band that was touring in the West of Australia playing in pubs. Founding members been bassist Garry Gary Beers, keyboard player and composer Andrew Farriss, Jon Farriss on drums, Tim Farriss covering guitar and the famous and charismatic Michael Hutchence as lead singer. Michael was the front man for over 20 years until his sudden death which was a very sad day for the global music community.

He was considered as on of these guys with "sultry good looks" in line with a magnetic stage presence - ask Kylie Minogue - there was a little romance too if the sources are correct. I can only confirm the girls I wanted to date did ignore me having posters of this guy at home - i had no chance!

The music style was rock with elements of waves/pop, funk and dance. After the tragedy they had various other lead singers but never achieved similar success again. The band officially split in 2012 after 35 years of existence. Throughout their career they sold over 30 million albums worldwide. Here some more of the known tracks - at least for older Steemians out there - who remembers them?

Sources: Rolling Stone, Wikipedia, YouTube, Memories

Sort:  

Never Tear Us Apart ist klasse !!!! :-)

Aber eines hast Du für meinen Geschmack noch vergessen:

@andyjaypowell - nicht vergessen, das ist doch drin als erstes Video oben.

Asche über mein Haupt....

Vor lauter Bäumen habe ich wohl den Wald nicht mehr gesehen....
Nicht mal mein Lieblingslied von INXS!

Excellent rock band, peculiar style my favorite song "not enough time"

I was listening them some days ago, telling my mom how hot was the singer :P I did some researches about the way he died, i was schocked...=(

Another cracking band @uwelang

I loved all their main hits but my favourite track is a little different. It comes from the live album Live Baby Live and its The Stairs.

It has always grabbed my attention and I play it regularly even now. I think it's because of the gradual build up of emotion and intensity. It's also at old Wembley stadium! 😃

Gaz

Classic songs are old but meaningful... Like old is gold..
Not all time but sometimes i am listening classical rock song...

this all song is so classic and wonderful. @uwelang

it's good to listen to good classics from time to time

Very Nice!!!

Yes!

He is the legend!

the famous brothers Farriss I am from the 90s and they sounded more in the 70 or 80, after the Death of Hutchence they were not the same :( even so I love them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34