Merci Bien France

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Music - French Style

Today a little story from my youth that explains maybe why I hard an early Love for France. At the age of 14 my parents accepted to host a French student for two weeks in our house as part of a language school exchange program. So - a young man from Lyon was selected to be our guest and we had a great time, fun and I learned to practice my French language skills. A year later I visited him in France and had a great summer vacation. Being in France you mainly hear French Music (at least in the past during my trip) and I fell in love a bit with Jeanne Mas - a superstar in France and bought some vinyl records - the first one I never will forget is "Toute Première Fois".

About Jeanne Mas

She was a Beauty - at least to me - when I saw her the first time on this record cover. Seeing her perform on French TV convinced me more about French Music which I never was interested in before. Jeanne celebrated her 60th birthday this year and is still very popular in France.

Her music success started with the single I showed above. Jeanne is mainly famous in France, Switzerland and Belgium for her French Euro disco electropop style featuring synthesizers and very catchy melodies - maybe that is why I liked it immediately? Her decline began end of the 1980ies when a tour was cancelled - but she returned back to fame and success 20 years later with a series of live performances in huge Paris stadiums. Jeanne lives in the US now and has a son and daughter. She is very famous in the French public for being vegetarian (since 25 years) and later even became a vegan. She runs a blog on the topic and published a book 2 years ago.

A little excerpt from her biography in French from her Site (only the written words sound like music:

​Elle a été la première artiste à être simultanément N°1 des ventes d’albums et de singles, la première Artiste Femme à remplir la salle de Paris Bercy, la première artiste à être sacrée meilleure révélation aux Victoires de la Musique et meilleure artiste féminine.Son look, sa voix, son tempérament ont marqué pour toujours les années 80 et n'ont cessé d'étonner.

Sources: My youth, Lyon, Parismatch, Wikipedia

Sort:  

Die Größte und Beste von allen. Und die schönste. Eine meiner ersten LPs. Hab ich in Paris für 90 Francs gekauft. War damals ein SCHWEINEGELD.

Stimme ich zu, war in den 80ern schon heiss und ich hab ihre platten by"fnac" in Paris gekauft - 90 Francs waren damals glaub 30 DM oder so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72