My experience with "Crazy Train" , my Ozzy Osbourne Coverband - Part three

in #music6 years ago (edited)


This is the third part about my experience with Crazy Train, the Ozzy tribute band I have played in.

If you would like to read the first two parts you can find them her:

Well, we got an invitation to play as opening for a band in a venue called 'De DWK', when we heard for which band it was I had a big laugh. It was for Six Strings, the band from my previous post which I left. Although I quit that band for moral reasons (for me) I didn't had any beef so I thought it was cool to open for them.

While we were practicing our butt's off I noticed that Rene and Gerrit were getting nervous to the gig. While the moment of playing was comming closer they asked many times if we were ready enough to play. So me and Michael tried to convince them that me were. I didn't knew Gerrit that well but I did know Rene well. Rene is a bit just like the keyboardplayer of Ozzy with Mr. Crowley, you hear him but you won't see him. if it was up to Rene he was backstage while playing :)

So finally the day has come, we left early to the venue for the stage build and for the soundcheck, and like with all the 'support acts' we were last to soundcheck lol... to me everything sounded great, I could hear the guitar of Rene very well, I was next to the drums and on my monitor I had the voice of Gerrit. So I thought it sounded ok. The mix-guy thought it was good, so we were ready to rock !!!

When the venue opened and people were starting to arrive Rene and Gerrit were again a bit nervous, but they managed :) At showtime our intro-clip was played, but after the gig we all agreed It was probably a bit to long hahaha..
We had a great gig, we played ok I guess for the first time, but seeing back the recording of the gig I noticed that Gerrit still was very nervous, you can see it in his performance and hear it in his singing... But then again, It was our first gig, so we weren't worried.

There was enough crowd and I even saw a lot of people headbanging and rocking along with our songs, but it was a rock oriented crowd so they know all their Ozzy shizzle. It was fun to see and it always gives me a boost.

We have played our complete setlist in one take, without a break. The fun thing for me was that we also played two songs of Black Label Society because Rene was such a Zakk fan :)...

After the gig we got some great comments of the audience, always nice to hear don't you think?

I managed to find some live footage of that night, a friend of my recorded it on a video-camera. The sound is awfull but you do get the vibe... Sometimes it sounds like it's a bit rushed and for Gerrit out of tune a little, but then again... Nerves were there hahahaha..... And to be honest, Ozzy is at his best singing 'arround' the music :)

Well...to be coninued for the fourth and last part...

The YouTube version

Sort:  

I would agree, sounded pretty good to me! Well done

Thank you :)

My brother plays this song on guitar and I'll often sit in on drums. It's a fun one. I would likely never attempt to play it live. You guys have balls.

hahaha thanks very much... And indeed it 's a great song !

Pretty awesome. I don't think it sounds that bad. Especially know that he was nervous. The intro was a little ahead of the tempo, but it sounded like you fell right into it as you got going. I look forward to hearing about your continued adventures!

Thank you :) indeed , our first gig with some nerves... it went alright, and playing those songs was like a dream came true :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29