A peek into Dutch music part 1

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Our local heroes


My first part of a serie about the dutch music culture.

In Holland you have quite some artists who sing in our native language. I make a difference in the pop music (just as other pop music but then in Dutch) and the more local folk music. The folk music is loved by a lot of Dutch people but in particular by travellers. The songs they sing are often about the downside of life, the stuggles of men and woman in love, work etc. Sometimes a good song passes by, but for me the most songs are not my cup of tea. I still do want to mention this type of music because it is very big in the Netherlands so it can't be denied :)

There is a very big audience for this music, big festivals are organised and the artists have a lot of peformances all over the country.

Huilen is voor jouw te laat - Corry Konings



This song is probably one of the oldest (and first) real folksong. The bands name was "Corry en de rekels" but later on she turned solo and her name is Corry Konings. She is still famous in the netherlands although she doesn't sing as often as she did. She had a great carreer with several hits.

Manuela - Jaques Herb



This is a song I like very much. Don't ask me why, in some way the lyrics and atmosphere of the song touches me. The song is about "Manuela" a girl who died in a car crash by a drunk driver. The song is sang from perspective of her boyfriend who was left behind. It still is a famous song in holland.

De clown - Ben Cramer



Ben Cramer started his career as a folk-singer and later he joined the musical scene. He played in The Phantom of the opera. This song is about a clown in a circus who died. His passion was the circus but behind his mask there was a lot of grief... A very nice song....

Het dorp - Wim Sonneveld



Not quite the same as the songs above but absolutely a big evergreen in the Netherlands. Wim Sonneveld was a big performer in our country with some great songs. He reminds me a bit of the french chansoniers.

Kleine cafe aan de haven - Vader Abraham

Vader Abraham (a.k.a. Pierre Cartner) was an icon in the Netherlands. I had the honour to accompany him with my former band dogs. This song is about the humbleness of people and how a bar (cafe) at the harbour (aan de haven) makes that everyone is equal, independent where you're from, who you are... his song is covered often and is still used by a lot of artist to get the party started.

Have a great day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Het Dorp was lovely. Wim (from the office chair) Sonneveld has some style :)

Yes, he was a classy guy with a particular articulation...

Smooth classic tunes, very much dig it. Keep in mind I have a tag called #boombox where I resteem all posts with songs for free with my 2 alternate profiles (up to 20 a day)

Wow, thanks for pointing and your comment. I will use #boombox in my next music post !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86