A real evergreen: Que Sera Sera

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I ran into this song from which I asked myself "Is that the one I know from the golden oldies CD of my parents?".... And yes it was, but than sang by Selah Sue. A Belgium singer together with one of my bass heroes Marcus Miller..

First (of course) the original, performed by Doris Day.

This is the version I didn't knew it exists, you can recognize the original but it has such a jazzy touch :) By the way the clip is awesome.

I first saw Selah Sue at a gig at the PinkPop festival in 2015, her way of singing reminded me a bit of Amy Winehouse. The articulation and timing.. I thought it was refreshing...

Here in the Netherlands I haven't heard since a long time of Selah, but the video's on You Tube proves she is still going strong, see this clip (again with Marcus Miller) Selah perfoming "Come together"...

I think I am going to put some music of her on my playlist again :)

Have a great night !!!


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

I've been to Wembley many times to watch my rugby team Wigan Warriors. On the way down the song 'Que Sera Sera' can always be heard as fans sing 'Que Sera Sera, whatever will be will be, we're going to Wembley, Que Sera Sera.' This is probably how many English people know the song.

haha that's a great one !! didn't know that, I'll bet that will be some impressive sound with all those fans singing..

You will hear it sung at the end of an FA cup or Challenge Cup semi final when one set of fans know they are going to the cup final. Another common use of the song in the UK comes from this old TV advert which all people of a certain age over here will remember fondly :)

I never realized she was Belgium. I love her though. She is pretty awesome. She did a cover of "Can't take my eye off you" with Walk off the Earth that is really amazing. That is one of my favorite songs to begin with, then she just kills it. Awesome stuff!

Yeah she is :) I only know that because of the festival where I've seen her. Didn't knew before that either :) but she is a pretty cool singer :)

I just love Marcus Miller!! (Yeah, Sue too... 😉) Indeed, one of my bass heroes... They are touring together, also in Belgium, but everything is sold out... And I also missed Marcus the previous times he was over here in Belgium...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really didn't know they toured together. Must admit haven't followed Marcus in a while, but he is a true legend on bass for me... Have seen him several times in Amsterdam and Den haag... Selah is one kind of a singer.... :)

Lol, she sure is :-)
I didn't Know about it either, until I saw it in a newsletter of I think Ancienne Belgique. Must say I was quite flabbergasted by the combination :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17