Friday is the night :) Making music !!

in #music5 years ago


My brother visited us this weekend and asked me if I wanted to play along with his band.
He already plays a few years with these guys (my brother is the drummer) but the bassplayer decided to stop due to personal circumstances. I know the band quiet well and the great thing for me is that they are ambitious but not too. They want to play some gig's a year but not to many (for me great because I am quite busy and can't commit to a band who wants to play every weekend).

So I discussed his offer with my wife and it was ok with her (always check on it ;P ) and so next friday we will be rehearsing for the very first time. He texted me the songs they play, or a few of them, and so I started to practice at home yesterday evening (sorry neighbours).... These are the songs we will be rehearsing friday (I hope I get them all in my head on time)

Chris Stapleton - Tennesee Whiskey



I was a bit surprised by this song because the band usually plays more heavy stuff. But my brother told me that they are looking for some more variaty in songs. For me this song is just a steady, low end, blues.... Can't wait to play it together.
B.t.w. Chris Stapleton has a marvelous voice.

Nirvana - Come as you are



They play multiple Nirvana songs, but for next friday we are gonna play "Come as you are". Not the most diffcult song to play but with the right effects a massive song :)

Metallica - For whom the bell tolls



A Metallica classic with some great basswork. I have to do some practicing for next friday though ;)

Iron Maiden - Remember tommorow



For me a more unfamiliar song of Maiden (excuse me), but what a great song it is... I am only worrying how it will sound with only drum, bass and one guitar :)

Cream - White roomM/h1>


I did knew this song, but listening more carefull to it, it is a great song with a lot happening along the way :)

Joe Bonamassa - Sloe Gin



This on will be, I think, my favorite to play friday. It is such a expressive song.

I still have to do some practicing this week will I be able to play the songs along, so I know what to do :) Hope my kids can apreciate it ;)

Have a great day,


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

That is a nice selection of songs. I really like the Chris Stapleton cover. The version by David Allen Coe, will always hold a special place for me, but Chris Stapleton really took the song and made it his own. Almost a totally different song. My wife and I got to see Stapleton a couple of years ago. It was a fantastic show.

Stapleton has got his fame in Holland together with Justin Timberlake with the song "Say something"... Strange I think being the great musician he is. The power of Tennesee Whiskey for me is the ease of the song with the vocal power. Can't wait to play it on bass next friday :) Very curious how it is going to sound with the others :) I have no doubt the show was great, a bit jealous guy overhere :)

I agree, like I said, I almost like his version better even though the original is a favorite of mine. I have a feeling you have probably been to some concerts that would make me jealous too. :)

hahaha that could be the case , I'm not sure...been to a lot. Great to see the mutual interest in music in general but also similarity in musical taste :)

Hello @verhp11, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

wow, thank you very much, much appreciated :)

Hi @verhp11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.232 which ranks you at #8268 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 8248).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28