In the 80's, filmproducers had a keen look at music.

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Source

This morning I was driving to work and put on a 80's playlist on spotify. Just to go a bit back in time and enjoy some good old music. In this list there were some songs which directly reminded me of the movie where they were from... And to be honest, there were some great songs featured in the 80's movies....

Purple Rain - Prince
This is (of course) a no brainer ;) Still popular and still a good song. The song is of course from the movie "Purple rain"

Get into the groove - Madonna
A nice poppy song from the movie "Desparately Seeking Susan". Madonna was (and for some still is) an icon in the 80's. Her extravagant way of clothing and make-up paved some for Lady GaGa ;) Just like Prince in Purple Rain, Madonna played herself in this movie.

Take my breath away - Berlin
This song has been featured in the movie "Top Gun", one of the biggest movie hits of Tom Cruise. A romantic sweet ballad with some nice clips of the movie :). Tom Cruise got a bit of an lust-object by this movie....

The time of my life - Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes
Although it's a sweet song I really do like it... The movie 'Dirty Dancing' was a massive hit when it got released. Every girl I knew had the hots for Patrick Swayze (unfortunately he passed away in 2009). And everybody instantly wanted to follow danceclasses :) (no, not me....)

Footloose - Kenny Loggins
I think the 80's where years of dancing :) Footloose is from the same named movie. A ( at that time) dancing Kevin Bacon as one of the main characters. Nice tune, it's still in my head :)

Don't you forget about me - The simple minds
The cult movie "The breakfast club" was the podium for this great Simple minds song. I remember in the 80's when we go on Holiday's to France, this song appeared at every disco party and all tourists wen't nuts :). The movie was at that time (for me) just like a Taranntino movie now a days :).

A view to a Kill - DuranDuran
From the bond movie "A view to a kill" DuranDuran scored a big hit with the title song. I like the clip a lot, a combination of the band and the movie :) And of course Paris ;)..(not to forget Grace Jones).

We don't need another hero - Tina Turner
This song, from the Mad Max movie beyond thunderdome, is a song which I still listen every now and then. I am a big fan of Tina and this song is timeless.. I heard her performing this song live often and she is live better than on the album :)

Absolute beginners - David Bowie
From the like-named movie Absolute Beginners this song was the titlesong... although I never was a big fan of Bowie he did had some great songs of which this one is one of them....

Looking at this list (there will be much more songs of movies for sure) I can't deny that the 80's were some good times for music... And this are only songs I chosen of movies.. I probably could write for some more hours about 80's music, and maybe I will in the future, but it was a golden time I think,....

I'm currious about your musical memories from the 80's, if you like leave them in the comments.. Looking forward to it..

Have a great day and make things happen with music !!


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Nice selection. I remember al of these songs very well. The 80's was a little cheesy at times, but I have very good memories and wish I was back there.

It was cheesy at some times, but also that has had it's charmes... Looking back at this songs and memories recalling I indeed miss that time to... It was a great time with less worries :)

You have a minor typo in the following sentence:

on of the biggest movie hits of Tom Cruise.
It should be one of the instead of on of the.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17