Music: The musical alphabet - What are yours ?

in #music5 years ago

As many of you know, music is my life. some months ago I posted a musical alphabet on Steemit, I thought it was time for a new one. So enjoy my 26 selected songs in alphabetical order :)

Feel free to post yours, I'm lookin forward to your songs.

The A of Abba - The Winner takes it all



Abba, timeless music. I grew up with Abba, I even been to the only concert in Rotterdam Ahoy. Although I was young, I still can remember almosrt everything of that night. Later on I started to listen more to the music itself, and those musicians of the band are really awesome.

The B of Bruce Springsteen - I'm on fire



The Boss... Bruce springsteen is already on the road for years and still he gets sold out concerts. With this song his voice is so layed back but strong... Love it.

The C of Culture Club - Victims



Boy George and Culture Club. Boy George , a extravagant singer, with a great voice. I can remember a live registration on BBC, great vibe on stage.

The D of Def Leppard



This song is a golden oldy of the band Def Leppard. I saw them on Arrows classic Rock festival in Nijmegen. The drummer has lost his arm in a accident, now he drums with on arm and a lot of pedals. Respect...

The E of Elvis - Unchained melody



A tragic and brilljant video at once. This was one of the last live recordings of Elvis and looking at it I feel sorry for him… Suffering succes... On the other side, the way he sings it gives me the chills.

The F of Foo Fighters - Hero



Foo fighters are a band which you have to see live. So much energy, and great songs. Front man Dave Grohl is just a multitalent.

The G of Gary Moore - Red House

This is probably the best version of Jimi Hendrix's Red House. Played at the 50th year anniversary of Fender Stratocaster. To bad Gary passed away way to early. A great guitarplayer..with such a expression while he plays.

The H of Hurts - Stay



These guys blasted me away at their gig at the PinkPop festival. it's a crossover of electronic and full band. Great voice, great sound. This song is , for me, one of the strongest sons of the last years I've heared.

The I from Iron Maiden - The Trooper



Iron Maiden, the godfathers of hard rock, still going strong. They have a fanbase which is unbelievable. The Trooper is one of my favorits.

The J of Joe Satriani - Always with you, Always with me



My all time favorite guitar song. I remember getting the album "Surfing with the alien" from my brother. Never heard of Joe Satriani before, I was stunned… What a guitarist, and his sound..especially in this one, awesome.

The K of K's choice - Not an addict



K's choice was a Belgium band with Sarah bettens as front-woman. This song is so powerfull. I remember playing it with some of my bands in the past, Always a succes on gig's.

The L of Linking Park - In the end



Again a tragic story with Linkin park frontman. At the time they climb the charts it was such a refreshing sound. Rock, Rap and some really cool lyrics… Great band.

The M of Motörhead - Kill by death



I didn't had a lot with Motörhead in the past, when I saw this dutch motörhead coverband playing "Kill by death" I was positive surprised… Actually this is a great powerfull song.

The N of Nazareth - Love hurts



I used to have a double-cd called "Knuffelrock" it was a album with rockballad. This song was on the first CD. Awesome song, still standing even in these modern times :)

The O of Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy train



Ozzy is the man, together with the tragically died Randy Rhoads they were the best... Just look at this guitarplaying...awesome.. I even played in a Ozzy Osbourne coverband called "Crazy train"... Great memories..

The P of Prince - Nothing compares to you



Nothing to say here, just a perfomer first class with great songs...

The Q of Queensryche - Silent lucidity



The one and only Geoff Tate, for me the only singer of this awesome band.. This concert, from which this video is, Live Evolution is just all Queensryche is meant to be… Everythings falls in its place.

The R of Ronnie James Dio - Holy diver



The godfather of heavy metal. One of his most well known songs... He breathes music…

The S of SlipKnot - Wait and bleed



The Guy's with the masks. The first time I heard Wait and bleed I was stunned by the sound. When I found out they performed only with masks I was even more intreged. Corey Taylor has (besides SlipKnot) also Stone Sour as a band, A completly different band where he does some amazing, different, vocals. I'm a fan :)

The T of Tina Turner - Whatever you want from me



When you look at the most previous video's you mainly see rock or metal oriented video's. But Tina Turner can't mis in this alphabet. She is just awesome. I have been to 7 or 8 of her concerts, in Germany, Holland and even Switserland. A show of La'tina is one of a kind.... Such a energy, great band but most of all great songs.

The U of U2 - With or without you



Timeless, to me it looks like Bono is getting better while he is getting older. I think the power of U2 is that you just have to here a small tune and know it is U2. The guitarplaying of the Edge is so recognizable.

The V of Vangelis - Chariot's of fire



In the time of the TV show "Miami Vice" Jan Hammer (writer of crockets theme) and Vangelis were very populair with their synti music. I think this is a great piece of music..You just keep listening..

The W of Whitesnake - Here I go again



One of the biggest hits of this great band. With a bit of a dutch influence ( Adje vandenberg played guitar in Whitesnake)

The X of Symphony X



A band with a X, difficult. But I think this is a great one. Again a band with a long trackrecord. Symphonic influences with great metal...

The Y of Yngwie Malmsteen - You don't remember I never forget



Old school guitar metal. Yngwie Malmsteen and his rising force... A guitar virtuoso who stood the test of time (ok a few pounds bigger).. :)

The Z of ZZ Top - Give me all your loving



Straight Southern rock... The gibbons sound mixed with nice cars and women ;) … I just can't sit still hearing this song...


Well, a lot of great music in alphabetical order ;)… Feel free to join this challenge with your own alphabet. I'm looking forward to them. Let's spread the music..

Have a great night and enjoy the music.


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

That's quite the comprehensive list!

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Aahh.. Thank you very much !!

That must have put a bit of putting together, some interesting stuff you have in there.

Nazareth are old guys now but the voice is still the same.
That Queensryche tune has got something, will be listening again.
Slipknot with those crazy masks... haha!

You know what they say, time flies when you're having fun :) It took some time but I even listened more songs than in the list :)... Nazareth is gold... great song... Silent lucidity is a great song... The dynamics in the song are just so well formed... that what music is about if you ask me :)... Lol, yeah slipknot.... The have managed to stay anonymous for a long time though cause of the masks :)

I'll try and put one together. Seems like a good idea and I'm always up for some music.

I'll be waiting for your alphabet :)

Nice selection of songs there. I really expected you to have Van Halen in the V slot, but I am glad that you threw in Vangelis. Great stuff!

hahaha went to my mind for a second (Van Halen) but just had some more with vangelis :)

What a great selection of songs!!! Wow man! Mine would be different (challenge accepted ;-) ), but I can totally relate to yours too!
Satriani is indeed the greatest, I had the privilege of photographing one of his concerts in Brussels a few years ago... was incredible!!!! Love his guitarplay! And indeed, this is one of his best ones...

Looking forward to your selection :) I have met (well that's a big one) Satriani in Rotterdam after the concert. My brother and I (1997) went to the G3 concert with Steve Vai and Adrian Legg. I got a autograph on my jacket, it was awesome (Steve Vai too). I still have the jacket :)

I can imagine!!!!
No, I never got that close to them ;-) Did see Steve Vai I think 2 years ago in Belgium. Was pretty amazed by him too. Been a fan of both of them since like... 25 years ago? And of Stu Hamm, who was playing with Satriani in Brussels. Pretty amazed by him too. :-D

Stu Hamm, wow, indeed. Great bassplayer. I saw him at G3 too. The last gig of Satriani I went was with Matt Bisonette (brother of Greg). although he was a great bassplayer, couldn't match Stu if you asked me :)

Yeah, Stu is incredible! I have some training videos I’ve bought from him... Only need the time to go through them :-)

hahaha sounds familiar :)

R is indeed for Ronnie! One of the greats. You could have bumped Def Leppard and put 'Don't Talk to Strangers' in as well...

Ronnie is the greatest indeed... haha indeed, I could have :)

@verhp11 Nice!!! I think we like a lot of the same Rock people. Satriani, Whitesnake, Yngwie! I still remember the first time I heard him ...like it was yesterday.

Music connects :) , but I indeed think we do , awesome :)

My god Peter, that should ahve taken a while to sort out those classics, because lets be honest..there are a lot of golden oldies in there.
Not that I mind though..old aint bad hahahahha

Should this turn into a pass-it-on contest?

It took a while indeed, but it was worth it every minute. So cool to hear all those classics again :) a pss-it-on contest would be fun indeed. I tried it in the past and there was not much response So I chose for the share of this post... But be my guest, I am currious about your choice of songs :)

Oh my god you crazy kat - this is awesome!!!! It'd make a good contest too... love it. The song choices are not exactly my taste, but i do appreciate a fellow music lover.

Thank you very much :) Much appreciated. Some songs indeed may not be anybody's taste.. but music is universal language indeed , it connects :) Thank you !!

Absolutely. You should do music Monday with me. Every Monday post two or three of your songs and get people to comment and add their own song

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a great idea !!!

I really expected you to have several posts instead of 26 letters in one post :) don't know everyone of them, at least not by reading the title.. soms of them I think are awesome.. will listen to some unknown ones later when everyone is awake ;) thanks for sharing

I indeed could have done that, but then the posts would be so small :)
My pleasure for sharing, and enjoy the music (and for now the silence ;) )

Yeah small, but this was a lot of work, I guess? :) Hopefully I have some more silence until 9 AM , although the past couple of days she's waking up earlier.. This is me-time to write :) fingers crossed hehe..
I love the idea, of the musical alphabet. Don't have too much time though, so maybe I will collect them by a few each day before I post it :)

Yes it was quite some work indeed, but then again I love music so enjoyed every minute of listening and writing the small pieces :) Awesome , looking forward to your posts :)

UUUh Music Alphabet so nice, i like your choiche!

Well Thank you :) There are some great songs in it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16