My experience with "Crazy Train" , my Ozzy Osbourne Coverband

in #music6 years ago


Source

Inspired by @slobberchops, who wrote a piece of his 'work-experience' in a mutli-part story, I had written a story about how I joined the band 'Six strings' , and how I left them :)

You can read those two posts here:
Part 1
Part 2

This story is about the band I founded after Six Strings. So I hope you enjoy this story as well...

After me leaving Six Strings I was quiete done with bands for a while. Although making music is one of the greatest things you can do (and I do still think so) , I was done with one way traffic in adjusting to other people. After quite a few bands and experience in leaving, breaking or getting thrown out ;) I am convinced for 100% that the most difficult part of 'being a band' is to get and stay getting along with eachother. For being together while playing but also the musical direction you want to follow with the band. It's all about commitment to eachother and having the same goal, whatever that is....


Source

While I did some interim gig's with other bands whenever they needed a bassplayer I ran in to Rene. Rene is a guy I already knew for years and had played with on jam sessions and stuf... He is a very gifted guitarist and besides that he play's church-organ... He still does actually. He visits churches all over holland to play their organs, just to keep it in shape... And he does a great job in doing it...

Rene and i talked about music, bands (Rene really never played bands) and how difficult it is to keep a band together in good harmony.. While we we're drinking some beers and chitchatting a bit suddenly he said "Why don't we start a band ourselves?"..... I looked a bit supprised because it was not in his nature to play bands... On jam sessions he was always playing if his life depended on it, but bands... never saw him doing that.. So I asked him "what kind a music are you thinking about?" , because he did get my attention :).... It turned out that he was playing a lot of Zak Wylde stuff and in that way had a lot of interest in Ozzy stuf... He said 'let's start a Ozzy Tribute band' all the old Ozzy songs and stuff.. He thought it would be great... Now you have to know that Ozzy is my lifetime hero with music but also as a person... So in a blink of an eye I said YES let's do that....

Even before we had the band together I was already fantasizing about the band. Can you imagine better than playing the music of your biggest hero? And in Holland at that time Tribute band's were hot, so I figured we could play in some cool places... We only needed a singer, a drummer and perhaps a keyboardplayer... So let the search begin...

Rene and I had a mutual friend, Michael, he was a drummer in a progressive rockband in Zutphen. We thought we could ask him if he was up to playing in our band. So we gave him he call and he was enthousiastic about it, so we where thrilled we already found ourself a drummer. We decided to not search for a keyboard player because they are a bit harder to find and for the music of Ozzy is was not a real requirement (although if we wanted to play 'Mr. Crowley' lol)... The most difficult part was a singer. It had to be someone who can sing the way Ozzy sings, because we did thought if we wanted to play a a tribute band, you at least have to play and sound as close as you can to the original.

First we put out some ad's at the local music stores and in our rehearsal studio, but with no succes. So we put a ad online in a forum for musicians. We didn't got any reaction for some time. So we decided we already going to rehears our 'setlist' and pick out songs we wanted to play.


Source

The songs we first started with were:

That I never had


Junkie


Believer


Crazy Train


You have to know that Rene is a awesome guitarist who has a little problem, the problem is that when he is into a certain musician he checks out everything that musician has done and played. And he buyes the instruments and amps which the musician uses. So in this case he has bought the Les Paul Bullseye Custom of Zakk

Source
Just for this band :) ...

Of course I already practiced my parts at home, so during rehearsals it already started to sound like actually the Ozzy sound :)... I was stunned by the guitarplay of Rene, he litteraly played every note and harmonic Zakk plays in his parts... It gave me goosebumbs and so much energy listening to the guy.... it was awesome and I really did had the feeling I finally had the band of my dreams :)

To be continued.....

Have a great weekend and keep up that music !!


The pictures used in this post are royalty free of use and sourced

I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wicked post bro :)
Zak is an inspiration to me too.
If Rene can play like him I bow to the bloke :D

I remember watching a tuition VHS tape of Zak called Pentatonic Hardcore and dammm. To see that when I was 20 was mind blowing!!
Look forward to the next part bro.
Cheers.

Thank you man , much appreciated... I have a dvd from a gig we played, now I have to find a dvd player to rip it to video so I can post :) , but Rene is really some piece...he made us all play better 😊😊, next part comming soon :) thanks again !!

cool story, can't wait for the next chapter

Dang! That is a pretty expensive habit if the guy buys all of the stuff he can when he gets into a band. I look forward to reading the next part of this series. I wish I was talented enough to be in a band. Isn't that like very kids dream? :)

It is indeed a expensive hobby :) He used to buy the gear of his hero for that time , but he also sold his older stuff when he was buying a new set. But it always costed him a lot of money..

Well that makes sense as long as he was selling the older stuff. I know some people hold on to stuff like that for a long time. The guys who are sitting on old tube amps are probably not complaining though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09