The tragic life of Amy Winehouse

in #music6 years ago

amy.jpg

Yesterday I watched the documentary about the life of Amy Winehouse. I was an impressive documentary where 'the story' was told about the rising of Amy in music industry. My only knowledge of Amy was the first time I saw here on the "Strat Pack" concert in honour of 50 years of Fender Stratocaster and her album "Back to Black". I was, just like most people I think, fed by the news of her alcohol and drug abuse and always thought that this was only there in de last years of her life, when she got really famous.

For me the documentary shined a different light on that, Amy have had problems and was in a way self-destructive already from the beginning. She had problems process the absence of her father when he left her mother and never really got over that. apart from that she still admired him like god, something I could not understand watching the documentary till the end.

In the beginning she was managed by Nick Shymansky, he was a humble guy Amy knew already from when she was 16. He always tried to do the best for Amy but couldn't prevent her from using drugs and alcohol. He and two best friends of Amy where the ones that wanted her to go to Rehab but her dad prevented that, het thought it was not necessary. So she did'nt go... Later on she scored one of her biggest hits which tell's the story about that moment.


With lyrics

I don't know if she went to Rehab that moment things would go any different afterwards, but the fact is that she lost her first control at that time and that I could'nt understand a a decision like that from a father. My philosophy is that you protect your childeren no matter what... But who am I :).

Things got worse when she got involved whith her (later on husband) boyfriend Blake Fielder


Blake Fielder

In my honest opinion he was more selfdestructive than Amy and pulled her with him further in the world of drugs, alcohol. Put with that the massive media attention she got (really unimaginable the amount of paparazzi every single day). And you got a master of disaster... At one moment they said in the film that Blake kept her dependent of him by drugs because he wanted to have control about her (and her money). And seeing the footage and the way he manipulated her, I truely belive that. Eventually she was still a vulnareble shy, little girl with problems....

What I didn't knew also is that during her succesperiod things where indeed going better a couple of times, but she fall back in her problem world every single time by circumstances.. For instance the death of her grandma. She adored and loved very much.

For me the all time low whas when Amy was on a Island to recover and her dad came over with a camera crew to film his own life (yeah right) and misused his daughter's trust for his own good... For me total proof that he had'nt any good for his daughter.....

Eventually Amy died of alcohol abuse on the 23th of July, 2011..
I think a great loss for music in general and again proof that the fame and fortune isn't ment to be for everybody. Included her dad and Blake Fielder..

What I truely am wondering, what if she stayed with Nick Shymansky as her manager, would things then be any different.... Unfortunatly we will never know.......


My first Amy Winehouse experience

Have a great day and make things happen with music !!


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

I was a big Amy fan and was reading on a daily basis about her antics when I was working in London in 2007. Ridng the tube and reading the free metro is seemed everyday there was more news about her. Back to Black is an amazing peice of work. Many of the best ones seem to die early for one reason or another.

Yes, it seems to be isn't it.... I loved her music very much, with 'Back to Black' being her highlight of her musicality. Strange (and beautiful in a way) to see that you can read the lyrics of the whole album as a life story. She wrote all her strugles into music....that takes guts and creativity.....

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thank you very much, I appreciate it very much !!

You're Welcome! :)

Correct we will never now - but we now she was *a great musician/singer!

And that she was.....200%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73