Vintage of the Day - 1960's Beatles Trading Cards

in #music6 years ago

The Beatles cards were from the 1st and 2nd series, 1964.

Acquired in a random box lot of not just sports cards but other fun too.Trading cards are easily researched and this time, the research would lead to more questions.

After sorting the box, I put them in numerical order according to set. I started looking more closely at the groups that were most appealing to me.

The stack of Beatles cards were from the first and second series of cards from 1964.

The VERY FIRST series was a 60 card set.

The 55 card SECOND SERIES, continued the numbering #61 thru #115. One card stuck out to me! Card #102. See it below! HMMMM.

1 (1).jpg

They had crew cuts! Who would've believed it?

Now clearly anyone can see that this is some mighty fine vintage photoshopping! Especially after you shuffle back to card #91 and see the original picture they were working from, BELOW!

2 (1).jpg

And for better comparison another shot below!

Untitled design (12).jpg

I'm interested in the who, what and where of this card.

Intensified search only finds me a couple of comments in trading card and Beatle sites. One story is it's the gag of a production assistant at Topps Trading Cards (manufacturer of the cards) that results in the card being pulled from production, therefore making it rare.

Continued internet searches for the card and prices seem to confirm the story. Yay for me! The price is double that of the other and finding another is hard.

The real true story of how this came to be? The world may never know.

Enjoy a bit of Beatles, Yellow Submarine!

If you love vintage, follow me it's my favorite subject!

Here are a few of the latest--

My Latest Vintage Finds, Chinese Porcelain and Dresses

https://steemit.com/fashion/@vgc5000/vintage-of-the-day-my-latest-vintage-finds-chinese-porcelain-and-clothing

Travel with me to Kenosha and Lake Michigan

https://steemit.com/travel/@vgc5000/travel-with-me-to-kenosha-wisconsin-and-lake-michigan

Vintage Fail of the Day - Hugh Heffner's OTHER magazine

https://steemit.com/music/@vgc5000/vintage-fail-of-the-day-hugh-heffner-s-show-business-illustrated-magazine-premiere-issue-sept-5-1961

Sort:  

Those look awesome, love old non sports Topps stuff, no doubt there is a huge Beatles nerd out there who will give those a great home.

The comparison between those two cards is pretty damn funny!

I like how they only changed one of the suits but the rest are exactly the same lol.

Edit: That card is so confusing I had only glanced quickly, now I'm all over Googl'ing about it myself. Where did you find the story about it being a gag from someone at Topps? I want this card now lol.

Jim found it under a Q&A on a Beatles fan site but was unable to find anything else about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87